Skip to content

Dead Until Dark

September 1, 2009

13. Read 101 books (11/101) (more info)

Rating ****

So I told myself no more vampire books until I finished a book from another genre. However, I had already purchased the first of the Sookie Stackhouse series, Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris. Finally I gave in and read it. I loved it! It took me a little bit to get into it due mostly to the fact that I’ve seen the first couple episodes of True Blood (an HBO series based on the books). I kept thinking I knew what was happening.

Dead Until Dark introduces us to Sookie, a cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana who has a disability… she can read minds. While working one night a vampire comes into the bar. He’s the first in their small town. See in Harris’ world vampires are acknowledged as real and have legal rights. Usually that doesn’t work for me, but I liked it here. Sookie is drawn to the vampire not just because he’s extremely attractive, but she can’t hear his mind.

Not all is well in Bon Temps though, soon women who have associated with vampires turn up strangled. The book is mostly a mystery with a side of paranormal and romance (although I’d call it PG13). Once I got a little into the book I couldn’t put it down. I’d recommend this if you like paranormal OR if you like a good mystery. I’ll probably start the second book tonight because I already have it :) I believe there are currently 9 books in the series with a 10th coming out May of next year… and I usually hate getting into series that aren’t finished, but the first book didn’t end with a big cliffhanger so let’s hope the others don’t too.

I’m even thinking about watching the TV series which from what I remember is a little more risque than the books…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 5:37 pm

    I have the first season of True Blood on my rental list, it is released at the end of October. Plenty of time to read a book or two in the series before then. Decisions decisions!

    • taraSG permalink
      September 1, 2009 10:48 pm

      I haven’t seen the show to know how far you need to read to not ruin the books. At least the first one which is only a little over 300 pages and an easy read :)

  2. September 2, 2009 2:51 pm

    Oh girlfriend.
    You are opening Pandora’s Box.

    I started this series on 7/24 – and I’ve just started the 7th book.

    They’re AWESOME.

    And from what I can gather, reading the book will give away SOME of what happens in the show, but a lot of things are rearranged, or never happen at all.

    • taraSG permalink
      September 2, 2009 8:47 pm

      I know… I’ve got the first four books at home and the other five are on their way to my local library :)

      That’s good to know! Thanks! I’m looking forward to watching the series.

  3. October 8, 2009 6:25 am

    I didn’t get around to reading any of the books but the first episode of True Blood was on TV last night so it looks like I don’t have to wait for the DVD. I really enjoyed it.

    • taraSG permalink
      October 8, 2009 11:52 am

      I liked the series (from what I’ve seen), but the books are VERY VERY different. The characters play slightly different roles. There are even HUGE plot changes. And while the books are funny, they aren’t as campy as the series.

  4. January 13, 2010 5:40 pm

    I have read the first two books of the series and loved them, although my interest seemed to dissipate by the end of book 2. I, however, absolutely love the show True Blood. I think the story lines for the books are more the sitcom-style, revolving around certain incidents. Guess that’s why they went ahead and made it for television!

    • taraSG permalink
      January 13, 2010 5:57 pm

      I didn’t LOVE the series until maybe book 4. Please don’t give up on it! If you liked the first two, you should like the rest much more :)

Trackbacks

  1. #42 Read a book reviewed by another Day Zero List Maker « Say Something Stacey
  2. The Book is in the Mail « 101 Goals in 1001 Days

Leave a comment