Skip to content

felt naked at the grocery store

June 8, 2009

91.   Go out in public without makeup (more info)

I’m sure this goal seems silly and superficial. Maybe it is. But as someone who has dealt with acne most of her life (even now as an adult), makeup is a security blanket that I never leave home without. Even when my face is clear I feel like I need mascara and blush (even at the gym). Today I went to the grocery store without any makeup whatsoever. I wasn’t stared at in horror (that I noticed) and might try to do this more often.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Chère permalink
    June 8, 2009 7:29 pm

    This doesn’t sound superficial or silly to me at all! I feel the same way, except that my insecurity about my skin is typically overwhelmed by my love of sleep and the subsequent rush to get ready which leaves no time for makeup. My mom always told me that other people weren’t paying any attention to me and I was the only one who noticed blemishes, but I sure didn’t believe her :)
    Congrats on accomplishing another goal!

    • taraSG permalink
      June 8, 2009 8:51 pm

      Thanks! My mom always says that to me too :)

  2. Aманда permalink
    June 8, 2009 11:00 pm

    It’s true! We are our own harshest critic. I bet everyone is so concerned with how they look that they aren’t paying attention to everyone else. :)

    • taraSG permalink
      June 9, 2009 10:44 am

      I’m sure! I’m always envious of girls that are out without makeup and I don’t pay attention to any flaws they may have :)

      • Aманда permalink
        June 9, 2009 12:00 pm

        Don’t be envious. I go often without makeup (I dislike it, actually), and trust me when I say I have plenty of other things I worry about. :)

  3. June 13, 2009 6:37 am

    Hi I think this is a fantastic blog, keep up the good work…

Leave a comment