Skip to content

Dad & I

June 7, 2009

97. Go on a road trip with someone other than Shane (more info)

dad trip

As you probably have already read, my dad and I went on a road trip to Florida to attend my cousin’s high school graduation. We left Wednesday a little after noon and stopped for the night before reaching Atlanta, GA. It always feels weird passing through a time zone. The next morning we got on the road around 10am (Pacific time) and reached my aunt and uncle’s around 7pm. We drove through rain for at least 16 out of the 18 hours! My aunt from Australia arrived not long after. After an amazing dinner with two delicious desserts, we hit the sack pretty early so that the girls could get up for massages in the morning. Although I accidentally was put with the deep tissue massage artist, it was relaxing and was perfect after having been in the car so long. We then got ready and headed to the Orlando Magic’s stadium for Arie’s graduation. It was really well put together including videos from members of the graduating class and ended with fireworks. We then went out to dinner at a Japanese restaurant where they cook the food in front of you. After getting home we played a great game of catchphrase. The next morning we headed to Christmas, FL for an air boat ride (read more about it here). After showering we got back on the road Saturday around 12:30pm and drove straight home. I slept for about an hour outside of Orlando, but awoke to Dad arguing with the GPS again. After that we both stayed awake. Dad refused to let me drive at all and ended up driving the whole 18 hours by himself. We watched the sun rise just before arriving home around 6am. Overall, it was an amazing trip! I wish I got to see my Floridian family more often!

100_2499Dad and I with the air boat

sunrise 6.7This morning’s sunrise.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    June 8, 2009 10:37 am

    Sounds like a good trip!

Leave a comment