Skip to content

Trip Update 2 (and a question)

June 5, 2009

97. Go on a road trip with someone other than Shane (more info)

We arrived in Florida safe and have been having a great time! I’ve tried some foods I’d never had before (which I’ll try to get the recipes for them and remake them). I also went canoeing… kinda. Since I didn’t hold a paddle I don’t think I’m going to count it. When I made that goal I had envisioned a trip specifically to canoe and myself being more involved. I had my first ever massage today which definitely put me out of my comfort zone (as did the canoe maybe even more so). I’ll be sure to post with more details when I get home Sunday afternoon. Apparently we’re leaving Florida after 5pm tomorrow and intending on driving the whole 18-19 hours straight back without stopping. That puts us arriving home just after 1pm the next day…

I’m also thinking about changing all our weekly goals to only being out of 101 weeks instead of the whole 143. I know I said I wouldn’t change anything, but being on this trip showed how hard some weeks could be and in an attempt to stop myself from failing and giving up completely I want to give us some extra time. In general we’ll still plan on doing it every week and act as if we have to do it every week, but this way we don’t feel like we’ve failed the entire challenge if we miss just one week every once in a great while. What do you think? Is ok to lower it or should I just keep it the way I wrote it to being with?

::: EDIT :::
I didn’t realize I would be cutting out almost a year by making it 101 weeks (I just liked the sound of another 101). Perhaps 4 extra weeks a year or 131 total would be better.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    June 5, 2009 11:24 pm

    I think it would be ok. But then, I was also very careful in my own list not to set something up for “every week” or “every day” because I knew it was something I would not be able to accomplish. I think being realistic about what you can accomplish is important – as is planning for the unexpected. Who knows what could happen between now and the end of your 1001 days. Set yourself up for success, not failure. If you change the goal to 101 weeks, but still continue every week as if the original 143 weeks was the actual goal, I think you’d be fine.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 5, 2009 11:52 pm

      True. I feel maybe it’s best to change it now and not make a habit of making it easier :)

      However, after reading over it again I realized that I would be cutting out almost a year! I don’t want to do that. I guess I just like the sound of 101. I think giving myself 5 extra weeks a year is more reasonable. My weekly goals aren’t difficult and I like them. It’s just a matter of working them in with trips that I think may be an issue.

      Thank you for helping!!

      • Aманда permalink
        June 6, 2009 12:03 am

        Yeah, it is almost a year. I didn’t realize that. I think giving yourself a little wiggle room is appropriate though, however much time you give yourself.

        • taraSG permalink
          June 6, 2009 12:16 am

          Thanks for the feedback!! I think in the long run a little bit of wiggle room will be necessary (specially for Shane lol). I think
          12 weeks off is far more reasonable sounding than 42 ;)

  2. June 6, 2009 9:14 am

    101 weeks sounds nice, it’s a whole year indeed but then you atleast have some space.

    Driving 18-19 hours without pausing? That’s dangerous! Take some breaks, take a look where you’re passing through. =)

    – Lora

    • taraSG permalink
      June 7, 2009 4:49 pm

      We definitely took some breaks… but it was rough… very very glad to be out of the car :)

Leave a Reply

