Skip to content

Click Click Click Flash

July 7, 2009

25.  Get a nice camera for photography (more info)

Yesterday my mom and I took my sister up to Chicago so she could finish packing up to make the move to New York. Although I’m very excited for her, I’m also very sad to see her go. One good thing about Courtney moving is getting all the stuff she doesn’t want anymore (or won’t have room for in NY). This move I got a new chair for the office, a stool for the kitchen, books, Cranium, paintings and a camera! Ok so the camera is still hers and she’s just letting me use it for a while, but I’m still counting it as getting a camera for photography. I’m a little intimidated by it. A non-digital, non-flash camera is very new to me. However, I’m very excited to start taking pictures. I’m sorry in advance for any crappy pictures I begin posting :)

cameranew (to me) camera

books dorkbooks I’m excited to read

stuff dorksome of my new free stuff


7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 2:09 pm

    Hurrah for using non-digital non-flash cameras! This is what I use for my picture adventures – well, at least those I’ve taken for my 101 in 1001. I found it really helpful to read the manual (mine included tips and pointers). And the quality of picture is amazing. Once you figure out how to use the camera, it will be a lot of fun! Do you have a flickr account or something that you post pictures to?

    • taraSG permalink
      July 7, 2009 2:27 pm

      Wow that looks a lot like mine! I found a manual online and I’m going to get film (and batteries?) this afternoon. Having a Flickr account is a good idea. I’ll have to set one up. Thanks :)

  2. bluefox864 permalink
    July 7, 2009 2:11 pm

    I think we need to go geocaching this weekend so you can put your camera to use ;-)

  3. July 7, 2009 4:09 pm

    Although I have reluctantly entered the digital age I still have my old Nikon SLR. I have used a Pentax similar to that. If it’s the one I think it is it has a built in light meter (just keep the needle horizontal and the exposure will be okay). I know you intend to take a class but until you do: after framing the most important lesson to learn is depth of field. It is something a lot of people don’t understand as they are so used to point and shoot cameras. It is explained here: http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/depth-of-field.htm

    By the way, long way down is a great book.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 7, 2009 9:49 pm

      Thank you! I”ll definitely check that out. I changed the battery but I’m not sure how to see if the light meter is working yet.

      It looks good. I got quite a few good books from her. Yay for my sister moving into a 200sq ft NY apartment :)

Leave a comment