Skip to content

Into the Wild

June 21, 2009

29.   Watch 50 movies from IMDB’s top 250 (3/50) (more info)

30.   Watch 101 new movies (7/101) (more info)

Shane and I watched Into the Wild (currently 145 on IMDB’s Top 250) tonight and both of us really liked it. I had read the book years ago for a college class and although I remember liking it, I didn’t remember any of the details. I thought the movie was very well done. Great soundtrack too. I liked the casting and perhaps it’s just because I didn’t pay attention when the movie came out, but I was surprised by some of the bigger names making small appearances. The movie made me want to leave it all behind and get out on the road… that was until he had to kill and cook animals in the wild. I’ve added the book to my to-read list and I would definitely recommend watching the movie.


8 Comments leave one →
  1. Chère permalink
    June 22, 2009 1:43 am

    Somehow, I saw this movie FOUR times in theaters while I was in France!!! It was crazy…but it’s such a good movie. I’m always impressed when the emotional reaction I have to a film isn’t just the first time, but has the same impact on me the second, third time, etc.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 22, 2009 11:52 am

      I can’t believe I hadn’t seen it sooner. Specially since it was something my husband wanted to watch too. I think a movie evoking that strong of an emotion even after you’ve seen is a sign that there was some great acting.

  2. June 22, 2009 5:13 am

    Hm…. Isn’t that the movie where a guy goes into the wild (lol) and then he want to go back to the real world but he can’t because there’s a river blocking his path?

    – Lora

    • taraSG permalink
      June 22, 2009 11:53 am

      Yep. I’m not saying I want to go live in a bus or anything… but the road tripping/meeting new people/not worrying about money part seemed appealing :)

  3. jnylyn78 permalink
    June 22, 2009 7:30 am

    Loved the movie and the book and the soundtrack! Great choice!

    • taraSG permalink
      June 22, 2009 11:54 am

      Thanks! I think I’m going to have to pick up the soundtrack :)

  4. June 22, 2009 8:25 am

    Great film I really enjoyed it. I read the book after seeing the film, although it gave extra insight into the character I found the narrative a little muddled and plodding. I think this is a rare example of a film that is better than the book it is based on.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 22, 2009 11:56 am

      I haven’t read the book in years so I can’t say which is better. I will say that from what I remember the movie definitely did the book justice. I don’t think they could have cast a better Christopher/Alex.

Leave a comment