Skip to content

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

February 23, 2010

13. Read 101 books (31/101) (more info)

Rating ***

(Same review as posted at 25HourBooks.com)

This book in 6 words : A great introduction to the fey!

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr is another book that I can’t remember where I heard about it from (I’ve since started keeping a GoogleDoc form)… I requested it from the library and although I have a ton of books just waiting to be read, it got picked randomly yesterday and I couldn’t put it down.

RULE 1 : Don’t stare at invisible faeries.

RULE 2 : Don’t speak to invisible faeries.

RULE 3 : Don’t ever attract their attention.

Aislinn has always seen faeries and she fears their cruelty. So imagine her fear when a terrifyingly beautiful Keenan starts following her.  Keenan is the Summer King who has spent the last nine centuries wooing mortal girls in the hopes that one of them will becoming his Summer King and save the lives of all his fey and humans.

I’ve never read a book about faeries and to be honest I wasn’t sure what to expect. I assume every author has their own take on the subject and I like what Melissa Marr was done with this series. Each chapter starts with a quote from a book about faeries explaining the “laws” or giving hints of what will happen. I liked the mix of human and faerie worlds and the idea that this all exists without any of us knowing.

I was surprised to like Aislinn and loved watching her become more commanding and strong as the book went on. I LOVED that her bestfriend and mortal love-interest isn’t your typical nice guy. He’s sweet, caring, smart, and has piercing and long hair. He’s the crowd your parents warn you about without really knowing them.

Keenan’s story and personality is complex and to be honest I don’t have it all figured out (I guess that’s why there are sequels!). I liked the other side character, Donia, and am happy to see her play such a large role in the story.

I’ll recommend this book to those who like YA Fantasy. From what I gather Ink Exchange is a sequel about another character and Fragile Eternity goes back to Aislinn and Keenan. I will probably pick up the books from the library, but won’t be rushing out to buy them.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2010 8:52 pm

    I went and borrowed this book from the library after your review, and I really liked it.

    I agree on everything you say above, and I really liked Seth as the love interest. I thought Donia was going to be a bit more of a side character, and loved her involvement! I also liked Aislinn as an adolescent femal protagonist with a backbone!

    I thought the repercussions of Keenan’s unconsulted decision for Aislinn’s future was sort of scary/freaky/disturbing! It stuck with me.

    Thanks for review–I wouldn’t have picked up the book without it, and appreciated it :)

    • February 28, 2010 8:53 pm

      Eep, sorry! Hope comment re: Keenan/Ash isn’t spoilerish? XS

      • taraSG permalink
        March 2, 2010 9:40 pm

        meh I don’t think that was too spoilerish :)

    • taraSG permalink
      March 2, 2010 9:40 pm

      Hi Sarah!! You have no idea how excited I am to have you like a book you read based on something I wrote!

      I’m about to start Iron King which I hear is even better than this!

  2. March 3, 2010 7:26 pm

    Aw, thank you! Thank you so much for blogging about it. I really liked the book, and wouldn’t have even heard of it (or picked it up at all) if it wasn’t for you!
    I’m borrowing Graceling from the library, as well!

    Oh, you asked about the countdown on my blog–it’s a piece of JavaScript. You can get the code at http://www.hashemian.com/tools/javascript-countdown.htm. Hope this helps :)

    • taraSG permalink
      March 3, 2010 9:55 pm

      Awesome! Thanks!

      OMG you’re going to LOVE Graceling!! At least I really did :)

      • March 3, 2010 10:04 pm

        I’m really looking forward to it after your review!
        There’s a bit of a wait on the library, so I’m on the reserve list–can’t wait :D

  3. March 7, 2010 6:40 am

    I want to read this, and now I know you like it I can go ahead ;-)

    • taraSG permalink
      March 7, 2010 6:50 pm

      I’m reading some other books in the same genre that are supposed to be even better. I’ll be sure to let you know what I think of them :)

Leave a Reply

