Skip to content

Stray by Rachel Vincent

February 23, 2010

13. Read 101 books (31/101) (more info)

Rating ***

(Same review as posted at 25HourBooks.com)

This book in 6 words : Wondering why I didn’t like weres!

To be honest I’m not sure where I heard about Stray by Rachel Vincent (Did you write about it recently? Let me know!). I usually skip over books about weres. I’m a vampire girl all the way. Well… I thought I was… Turns out I really liked this book and am looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

I picked the book off the coffee table for Friday Firsts and posted the first few sentences:

The moment the door opened I knew an ass-kicking was inevitable. Whether I’d be giving or receiving it was still a bit of a mystery.

I then took the book with me to work and read it on my break. After working two shifts (waitressing during Valentine’s Day weekend nonetheless!), I came home and stayed up until 4:30am to finish the book.

At 25, Faythe wants what most quarter-life crisis girls want, freedom and time to figure out what the hell they want to do with their life. However, Faythe is not your average grad student. She’s the only daughter of an alpha were-cat who wants nothing more than for her to come home and make babies with his second in command. After a fellow tabby goes missing, Faythe is ordered to come home until things are safe.

This book is packed full tension both emotional and sexual. I loved Faythe’s personality (so maybe she reminds me a little of me…) and her would-be beau, Marc, is a hardass with a soft-side. With plenty of supporting characters and a well thought-out world, you’ll find yourself lost in Vincent’s story.

SLIGHT SPOILERS FOR A WARNING!! (highlight with cursor to read) —> There is some violence against women including rape and murder.<—

I would recommend this book for those who love a good urban fantasy or paranormal. I’d also suggest fans of mystery check it out. I will be reading the next books in the series.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 6:42 am

    This sounds really good. I may have to add it to the list :-)

    • taraSG permalink
      March 7, 2010 6:50 pm

      It’s a great series so far!

Leave a Reply

