Skip to content

The Invention of Lying (2009)

February 7, 2010

30. Watch 101 new movies (49/101) (more info)

Rating ****1/2

I loved The Invention of Lying (2009)! In a world where everyone tells the truth – and just about anything they’re thinking, Mark Bellison isn’t happy. He is a screenwriter, about to be fired. He’s short and chunky with a flat nose – a genetic pool that means he won’t get to first base with Anna, the woman he loves. When faced with eviction, he comes up with something that has never crossed any one else’s mind – lying. This leads to more problems than answers and as we see why lying can be a necessity and when it can be a pain.

I laughed, I teared up, and I throughly enjoyed this movie. I highly recommend it (unless you are easily offended by religious themes). *** I’m including slight spoilers after the trailer to explain why I loved it and it offended so many people. ***

*** SPOILERS ***

Mark’s mother becomes ill and is frightened while dying because of the eternity of nothingness awaiting her. So Mark, now able to lie, tells her about life after death. The hospital staff overhear his version of “Heaven” and want to know more. Word spreads and soon Mark is inventing religion. I didn’t realize this was overly offensive… until I was talking to a girl at work about it and it caused quite the argument (mostly because she called me a bad person because I’m not Christian — long story). So if you would be offended by this, you shouldn’t bother watching the movie. Although I don’t believe it’s the point of the movie. I think it’s more of a “if religion was created now” kind of funny.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 4:24 pm

    I’ve been wondering if that movie was good indeed. I remembered the actor from another movie and I hadn’t like it. But perhaps you’ve convinced me to give it a chance ;)

    I love you 101 list by the way and you 101 list for books and movies. May have to take some time to read further on your blog. :)

    • taraSG permalink
      March 2, 2010 8:52 pm

      Thanks for stopping by!

      The movie was good! Full of laughs and made me think. What other movie did you see with which actor?

  2. February 14, 2010 1:35 pm

    Ooh, this sounds good. I shall look out for it.

    • taraSG permalink
      March 2, 2010 8:52 pm

      Let me know what you think of it!

  3. March 2, 2010 10:35 pm

    I think that was one of my favourite parts of this movie – the “if religion was created now” theme. It was funny. And if people are offended by it I think it is because it shows them how silly and improbable their own religion really seems to an outsider who knows nothing about it.

    • taraSG permalink
      March 2, 2010 10:37 pm

      I would have to agree :)

Leave a Reply

