Skip to content

Year One (2009)

January 31, 2010

30. Watch 101 new movies (43/101) (more info)

Rating *1/2

I am not sure I want to waste the time it would take to review Year One (2009). So instead I’ll just include the IMDB summary and say that all the funny parts are in the preview.

Zed, a prehistoric would-be hunter, eats from a tree of forbidden fruit and is banished from his tribe, accompanied by Oh, a shy gatherer. On their travels, they meet Cain and Abel on a fateful day, stop Abraham from killing Isaac, become slaves, and reach the city of Sodom where their tribe is now enslaved. Zed and Oh are determined to rescue the women they love, Maya and Eema. Standing in their way is Sodom’s high priest and the omnipresent Cain. Zed tries to form an alliance with Princess Innana, which may backfire. Can an inept hunter and a smart but slender and diffident gatherer become heroes and make a difference?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. eggplantinspace permalink
    January 31, 2010 8:05 pm

    I liked it, well I liked it much more that some of Jack Blacks stuff.
    It was harmless comedy with no real point and no real stroyline, but so what.

    It made me laugh.

    I liked the way that time appeared to move with the characters. At the start I wondered if we would work our way into today. It would have been better for it, more creative at least, but as it was, it was OK.

    • taraSG permalink
      February 2, 2010 2:07 pm

      I think my husband liked it more than I did (or since it was his choice for the night he had to say he liked it lol).

      I think I just wasn’t in the mood for a movie like this :/

Leave a Reply

