Skip to content

Cucumber Sauce for Gyros

January 15, 2010

50.   Try 2 new recipes a month (8/33)

I’ve been wanting to make gyros at home for a looooong time, but haven’t come across gyro meat. Today I found a new store that I think I love. It’s basically a SAM’s Club with no membership fees (and less of a selection). So I picked up 10 pitas (that you keep in the freezer and pop in the oven for 7 minutes) and 400 slices of pre-cooked frozen gyro meat all for around $10!! Now all I needed was cucumber sauce and I couldn’t find it (or a mix) at the grocery store, so I made my own. It was a little runny (but I think I know how to fix that) and it was a little too pickley (so I won’t add the dill next time). I halved this and it was still more than enough for each Shane and I to have 2 gyros. — Sorry I forgot to take a picture.

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2/3 cup peeled and grated cucumber
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh dill
  • 1/4 teaspoon prepared mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

I mixed it all together in my mini-blender, however, next time I think I’ll mix all of it BUT only half of the sour cream and then stir in the rest of the sour cream to thicken it back up a little.

One Comment leave one →
  1. mommyinmotion permalink
    January 27, 2010 7:22 am

    completely random and not related to this post at all but THANKS for my header! I finally got it added to my site and it looks awesome!

    Oh, and the recipe sounds delicious! I’m not a huge fan of sour cream either though, so I would also try it with just half!

Leave a Reply

