Skip to content

New Moon

November 21, 2009

30. Watch 101 new movies (40/101) (more info)

Rating ****

Sorry it took so long for me to get this up! I’m still trying to work out a blogging schedule around my new work schedule.

I did go to the midnight showing of Twilight: New Moon on Thursday night/Friday morning! I was a little worried about screaming teen girls, but the crowd was really good. And the movie was GREAT! I was a little nervous about it because I’m a fan of the books and although I liked the first movie, it wasn’t at all that I wanted. New Moon is much, much better. Aside from a bigger budget and therefore better effects, the actors look a lot more how I had pictured them (as far as clothing and style). And um when does Taylor Lautner turn 18?…. I’ve always been Team Edward, however I think I may be Team Jacob for the movies :)

I LOVED the soundtrack and how they blended it with the right scenes. The timing and feel of the movie matched the book. Yes, it’s mopey and depressing… it was supposed to be!

I’d highly recommend seeing this even if you weren’t impressed by the first movie.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 5:05 pm

    I love me some Taylor, and it makes me feel so creepy.

  2. November 21, 2009 10:30 pm

    Totally not into all this New Moon stuff. But I really need to get myself a 101/1001….. Just sayin’.

  3. November 22, 2009 2:00 pm

    Taylor doesn’t do it for me, but he did do a pretty good job in the movie. There was one scene where his acting bothered me, but the rest was impressive.

    I’m annoyed at all the critics saying it was slow and depressing. Dur, so is the book.

    • taraSG permalink
      November 23, 2009 6:30 pm

      I feel creepy that he does it for me lol… he was really good overall… there were a few laughable scenes :)

  4. November 23, 2009 8:21 am

    Interesting. I actually preferred the first one. See my review:
    http://fandangogroovers.wordpress.com/2009/11/22/bad-moon-rising/
    Having spoken to a few people and read a few bloggers reviews I am forming the picture that fans of the book prefer this one, general moviegoers like me who haven’t read the book prefer the first one.

    It is also interesting to see how fans of the book react differently to people who haven’t read the book, for example of those I have spoken to most don’t like Kristen Stewart’s portrayal of Bella, whereas I think she is the best thing about the films. Conversely they all seem to love Robert Pattinson’s Edward; I am not convinced by the character or the actor.

    • taraSG permalink
      November 23, 2009 6:31 pm

      I was going to post about this! I went with my husband and he felt the same way having not read the books!

Leave a Reply

