Skip to content

Mexican Chicken Tortilla Soup

November 3, 2009

50.   Try 2 new recipes a month (5/33)

58.   Learn how to make 25 kinds of soup (4/25)

(I only completed one new recipe last month so I’ll have to do 3 this month to make up for it…)

Last Thursday for FTC we had Mexican Chicken Tortilla Soup. It was easy to make and very, very good. Perfect for the gloomy weather we were having! Tara: 8.5/10 Shane: 8/10

tortilla soup

2 chicken breasts

1/2 white (or red) onion

1 can diced Rotel tomatoes

1 tsp garlic

6.5 cups chicken broth

tortilla chips

cheddar cheese

optional: cilantro, avocado

  1. Cook chicken how desired (grilled, baked…) and cut into bite sized pieces.
  2. Simmer veggies (onion, tomatoes, garlic) in pot until soft
  3. Add chicken to pot.
  4. Add chicken broth to pot.
  5. Simmer for 10-15 minutes.
  6. Garnish with crushed tortilla chips, cheese, cilantro, and avocado.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 2:49 pm

    Oh yum! That looks delicious. ANd it’s a recipe using avocado… which is on my list. Must make me some :-)

    • taraSG permalink
      November 3, 2009 4:28 pm

      I didn’t think I liked avocado… and then I tried it for one of my 101 goals and eat it all the time now :)

      • November 10, 2009 12:51 pm

        I like avocado, I can just never figure out what to do with them. Hence the goal.

        • taraSG permalink
          November 10, 2009 3:35 pm

          Yeah I only know how to make guacamole and this :)

Leave a Reply

