Skip to content

Intertwined – Gena Showalter

October 28, 2009

13. Read 101 books (23/101) (more info)

Rating ***1/2

(Longer review as posted at 25HourBooks.com)

I told myself no more start series that haven’t been finished. I HATE not know how a story ends… I didn’t realize that Intertwined by Gena Showalter was the beginning of a series. That’s what I get for not doing my research prior to picking up a book…

Aden Stone may seem like your normal schizophrenic trouble maker, however, the voices in his head are much more than figments of his imagination. Aden shares his body with four spirits that each bring something strange to the table. One sees the future – often the death of those around him. One raises the dead. One allows Aden to posses others. One can take Aden to past versions of himself often altering the future as he knows it. As terrible as sharing your head may sound, Aden has come to love these spirits and wants to help them find their own lives. He hasn’t known anything different. That is until he meets Mary Anne. She somehow quiets the voices, allowing him the peace he only dreamed of. That peace doesn’t last long, however, somehow him meeting Mary Anne is bringing the paranormal world out of hiding to find him.

I started this book at 7am the morning of the Read-a-Thon. I am not by any means a morning person so that may very well account for why it was so hard for me to get into the story. I felt like it was slow to start, but once it got going I couldn’t put it down. The added paranormal world definitely grabbed my attention. The characters became more well rounded and the more I learned about them the more I wanted to know. The only thing I didn’t like about the book was how rushed the end felt.  Overall, I liked the book and I will be reading the next one when it comes out. I’d recommend borrowing or checking this book out… I’m not sure if I can say “go out and buy it!”… maybe after the next one…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachie X permalink
    October 29, 2009 4:42 am

    That sounds really good.. will add it to the “must read” list

    • taraSG permalink
      October 29, 2009 11:52 am

      It was really good. I’m waiting to see how the next in the series goes before I make my final decision :)

  2. October 29, 2009 9:24 am

    I think you prompted my visit next weekend to the library to find this book!!!!!! It sounds like a good read. Do you read any Patricia Cornwell?

    • taraSG permalink
      October 29, 2009 11:53 am

      You should also look for Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins! It was so good!

      I have not read anything by her, but I have heard of her. Her stuff looks scary….

  3. October 29, 2009 12:15 pm

    I love Gena Showalter. Have you seen her Author Talk videos? http://authortalk.wordpress.com/ They are hilarious.

    • taraSG permalink
      October 29, 2009 1:12 pm

      I have not! Thanks!! I’ll check that out :)

Leave a Reply

