Skip to content

V for Vendetta (2005)

October 18, 2009

29.   Watch 50 movies from IMDB’s top 250 (12/50) (more info)

Rating * * * *

Remember, remember the 5th of November…

Why V for Vendetta (2005) was on MTV, I do not know. However, I got the chance to rewatch a movie (#181 in IMDB’s Top 250) that I remember seeing parts of but couldn’t tell you how it all came together. The movie is set in England some time in the near future. Under the guise of several terrorist acts, a totalitarian government has taken control in order to save the country from these terrorists. To do this people must give up a lot of their freedoms in return for being safe. The government soon becomes cruel, corrupt, and oppressive to the people. A mysterious man stands up to the government wearing a mask of Guy Fawkes to cover his face, and changing his name to only V. His mission is to kill all the doctors who had tortured him at the detention center, and bring back justice to the country. On November 5, in the process of blowing up his first building, V rescues a young woman, Evey, from the secret police. He then invites all the people to join him in one year on Guy Fawkes Night to see him complete what Guy Fawkes couldn’t, blow up Parliament. Not only is the movie very well made and the actors suburb, but the theme is scary due to how very possible it is. I believe this is based off a book that I’m sure will find it’s way on to my TBR list.

People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2009 10:08 am

    It’s based on a graphic novel by Alan Moore, who also wrote Watchmen

    • taraSG permalink
      October 18, 2009 3:24 pm

      Now that you’ve said that… I think I already knew it was the same author. Thanks!

  2. October 18, 2009 5:08 pm

    I was just going to say graphic novel, too.
    It is such a fantastic film! I think I saw it 3 times at the cinemas :D

    • taraSG permalink
      October 18, 2009 5:23 pm

      Ohh I bet it was even better in the theater! Have you read the book?

  3. October 19, 2009 12:39 pm

    If you enjoyed the film – definitely try to squeeze in the graphic novel. I saw the film first and went back to read it. Definitely worthwhile! It really fleshes out the story that makes going back and re-watching the film even more fun the second time around. And the great thing is these days – even libraries carry a good selection of graphic novels, so if you can’t borrow a copy, you don’t have to buy it if you can get it through a library, or inter-library loan.

    • taraSG permalink
      October 19, 2009 5:26 pm

      Thanks! I’ll have to request it from the library :)

  4. October 19, 2009 5:40 pm

    Watched the film for about 10 mins the first time, wasn’t a fan for some reason at first. Then I gave it a second chance, was I ever glad I did!

    • taraSG permalink
      October 20, 2009 1:47 pm

      I think I did the same thing!

  5. October 20, 2009 10:31 am

    This is one of my favorite films, and the graphic novel has been lingering on my “TO READ” list for a while.

    • taraSG permalink
      October 20, 2009 1:47 pm

      I’ve got a couple graphic novels on my TBR list, but I’ve never actually read one :/

  6. opicana permalink
    October 20, 2009 1:42 pm

    I’ll have to make sure I watch it as part of my IMDB Top Movies 101 task!

    • taraSG permalink
      October 20, 2009 1:47 pm

      You do! It’s a really good movie :)

  7. October 26, 2009 2:08 pm

    I loved this movie it was a good watch and the only thing better is Nov. 5th is this boys birthday!!!! I hope you enjoyed the movie as well :)

    • taraSG permalink
      October 27, 2009 5:16 pm

      How fun! Makes finding a bday party theme a little easy :)

  8. October 30, 2009 8:23 pm

    This movie actually surprised me. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it at first, but it ended up being a pretty good movie.

    K.C.D
    http://thewritingsofkcd.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

