Skip to content

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

October 6, 2009

13. Read 101 books (20/101) (more info)

Rating ****1/2

Last night I finished rereading the first in the Harry Potter series, The Sorcerer’s Stone. I’ve always loved Harry Potter. One of my best friends, DeShanee, forced me to read the first one back in early high school. I though it was a “kid book” and didn’t want to read it… I’m very glad I did. I’ve picked up all the new books at midnight (and seen almost all the movies at their midnight premieres)! I hadn’t read the books, specially the first ones, in at least five years. I cannot believe how much I had forgotten and how much I was remembering from the movie instead of the books!!

The Sorcerer’s Stone is where all the magic begins. Where we meet Harry and Hogwarts and the wizarding world. JK Rowling is so imaginative! The characters, scenery, and action is so well-written you feel as if you’re seeing it happen. I think part of why so many people love the HP books is because they are both an easy, fun read and a complex, moving story. Rereading the book, I was shocked at how much more complex the characters and plot were compared to the movie (which itself wasn’t bad at all)! The only reason it’s getting 4 1/2 stars instead of 5 is because I remember liking some of the later books even more (they get darker and more complex as you go along). If you haven’t tried the books – even if you’ve seen the movies – I very highly recommend you pick one up!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 7:15 pm

    Oooh, I love Harry. It’s called ‘Philosopher’s Stone’ over here, though. I just gave my mother all my HP books and I’m forcing her to read them (as well as all my Sookie books, and another pile…). I was so excited when book 7 came out! I pre-ordered and went to the store on the day and everything. They gave me a free stuffed Hedwig which is still sitting next to my TV ;)

    I’d only started reading them a couple of months before, though, so I didn’t have the agonising wait like everyone else did.

    I wish I’d waiting till Charlaine Harris had finished with Sookie before reading – the wait is killing me!

    • taraSG permalink
      October 7, 2009 12:16 pm

      Yeah I heard that they changed the name for the American books because they didn’t think Americans would find a “philosopher’s stone” as interesting as a “sorcerer’s stone” lol.

      I wish I would have waited for the Sookie books too… but on the other hand they won’t be done for a couple years and I loved them so much!

  2. butterfly effect :@ permalink
    October 13, 2009 9:47 pm

    I love Harry… I thought it was for Kids too… It stirs our imagination! My kids love them too…

    • taraSG permalink
      October 13, 2009 11:30 pm

      My cousins love the movies, but they aren’t interested in the books yet. But they’re only 6 and 7. Perhaps in a year or two, I’ll be able to get them hooked :)

Leave a Reply

