Skip to content

What I Learn from Your 101 List

October 2, 2009

I recently went through every posted 101 list in Day Zero List Makers in order to count goals that fell into certain categories for awards. Yesterday I posted the Teacher’s Pet Award which went to California for the most learning related goals. I think you can tell a lot about a person from their 101 list. Both who they are now and who they are trying to be…

So what are some things I learned from your 101 lists?

  • Most 101ers won’t come close to winning one of these goals.
    • A lot of the lists were so varied that there wasn’t a huge number of goals that fit into one specific category. This is by no means a bad thing! I don’t think there is a benefit of having a lot of one kind of goal or having a varied list, as long as they’re goals you want to do, don’t worry about what category they fit in.
  • Everyone loves food!
    • I summed up the totals of each category and food was the highest. Now I counted anything that had to do with food towards this category including: recipes, restaurants, family meals, holiday meals, picnics…
  • A lot of people are trying to make up for all the food goals :)
    • The 3rd highest category was fitness/health related goals.
  • People are trying to get away.
    • The 2nd highest goal was travel related. This one was kind of hard to count because some goals were obviously “travel” like “Go to Japan”, but others I wasn’t sure if they were local or travel, like visiting a specific museum. However, overall almost every single person had at least one travel goal.
  • We are a thoughtful bunch :)
    • There were a lot of donating, volunteering, being nice, gift giving, ect goals.

I’m always impressed with what people come up with on their lists! Luckily we started Goal Thieves and I can just steal the creative goals :)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    October 2, 2009 3:52 pm

    Interesting to know! Thanks for posting. :)

    • taraSG permalink
      October 2, 2009 4:03 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only that found this interesting :)

  2. Stacey permalink
    October 2, 2009 5:39 pm

    This is interesting. I think it’s funny we have so many food goals! I’m guilty of having things that arn’t really travel. I think people sometimes get so worked up in going other places that we forget to do things close to home. So I have places and towns in AZ I want to check out!

    • taraSG permalink
      October 2, 2009 7:49 pm

      Traveling around AZ is still traveling :)

  3. opicana permalink
    October 2, 2009 6:54 pm

    Interesting! I would have guessed health to be the number one goal, but thinking back to all the recipe/try new foods/restaurant goals it makes sense.

    I can’t wait to make my next list because I have seen so many other fabulous goals that I wish I had. It’s a wonder I don’t change the goals on my list more often. Can I just have 3 lists going at once? LOL. Next time, I am going to do the plan of leaving a set # blank to be filled in later when I am inspired.

    Thanks for sharing these!

    • taraSG permalink
      October 2, 2009 7:49 pm

      I know! That’s why I already started my “next 101” list and steal quite a few goals lol.

  4. Rachie X permalink
    October 2, 2009 7:03 pm

    Thanks for posting this, that is really interesting. I am glad i am not the only one with heaps of food goals ;) haha I have a number of goals i may not come even near to crossing off, but i put them on there anyway as a motivational tool to try and get them done because they mean a lot to me! :) just in case. You never know whats around the corner.

    • taraSG permalink
      October 2, 2009 7:50 pm

      Definitely not the only one with lots of food goals :) I have a lot of goals there just to motivate me as well, I’m hoping I’ll accomplish them, but climbing a mountain and hiking the Grand Canyon will be tough :)

  5. samanthajess permalink
    October 8, 2009 2:15 pm

    From my 101 list investigations, I’ve noticed that a LOT of people have “eat breakfast” as a goal. I didn’t realize that so many people didn’t eat breakfast!

    • taraSG permalink
      October 8, 2009 2:37 pm

      It’s my favorite meal! :)

Leave a Reply

