Skip to content

The Temper Trap

September 28, 2009

28.   Find a new musical artist a month (5/33) (more info)

The Temper Trap is a rock band from Melbourne, Australia. They are most noted for their atmospheric sound, featuring grand guitars set to pulsating rhythms. They’re main influences for their album Conditions included Radiohead, Prince, Massive Attack and U2. I first heard the group in (500) Days of Summer and after finding their album it has been on my playlist all month. It’s fun upbeat poppy rock. However, it’s the lead singer’s voice that’s really going to sell the album. He does that high pitched aching vocal amazingly well. I think the group has been compared to Coldplay quite a bit, so if you like Coldplay or Kings of Leon, you will probably like this.

Favorite songs from the album (at the time this post was written):

Sweet Disposition

Fools

The+Temper+Trap+temp4Honorable Mentions:

Monsters of Folk –Monsters of Folk

Muse – The Resistance

8 Comments leave one →
  1. mommyinmotion permalink
    September 29, 2009 9:44 am

    This is such an awesome goal. My husband would go nuts about this, he has the mot diverse music taste of anyone I know and he is always looking for something new.

    • taraSG permalink
      September 29, 2009 12:44 pm

      It’s one of my favorite goals :)

  2. September 29, 2009 10:57 pm

    So I have just (re)discovered Mat Kearney, and since you’re seeking out new musical artists I thought I might mention him to you. His music can be fairly eclectic (which I like), and there is pretty much something for everyone in his music (okay, not everyone- but his music isn’t as restricted to a certain tone as some artists are). I definitely recommend listening to “Closer to Love,” which is kind of lyrical, kind of pop-ish, and also “City of Black and White,” which I think is just beautiful.

    • taraSG permalink
      September 29, 2009 11:01 pm

      I really like him :) My favorite song might be “Breathe In Breathe Out”, but I hadn’t listened to him for a long time. Thanks for reintroducing him to me :)

  3. reeltoreel permalink
    September 30, 2009 12:52 am

    Muse is soooo good. I really like their new cd. Glad to see them getting an honorable mention!

    • taraSG permalink
      September 30, 2009 1:17 pm

      I wish I could see them live! They are one of my favorite bands :)

  4. September 30, 2009 10:02 pm

    Nice choice! Temper Trap are definitely an exciting up and coming band. (will be seeing them live at the Big Day Out in January! Muse will also be there!)

    As a suggestion for a future band, can I recommend ‘Tame Impala’. They are from Perth and have a very cool smooth groove.

    • taraSG permalink
      September 30, 2009 10:13 pm

      Ah I’m super jealous!!! What a great concert!

      Thanks for the recommendation! I looked them up on iTunes and they’ve got a good sound. Different, but good :)

Leave a Reply

