Skip to content

Return of the King (2003)

September 16, 2009

29.   Watch 50 movies from IMDB’s top 250 (11/50) (more info)

Rating ****

TNT had a LoTR marathon on Sunday! Although I watched parts of all three, I only watched all of the 3rd in the trilogy, The Return of the King (2003). I love all the movies and am very much so looking forward to them making The Hobbit :)

The Return of the King is the only LoTR book I’ve read out of the series. After seeing the second movie I had to know what happened next. Overall, the movies follow the books pretty closely. I was, however, disappointed in the the change with the end of the last movie. In the book the hobbits return to the Shire, but not all is well. Evil has invaded their home and they must take it back. This is very important because it shows the growth of the hobbits and how able they are to defend themselves and their home. Perhaps in the movie they thought there had already been enough fighting, I’m not sure.

The movies have been out for a very long time so odds are most of you have already seen them, but if you haven’t you should :)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 3:19 pm

    this week I saw a movie too from the IMDB top 250 movie list — I saw Lawrence of Arabia and it was REALLY long but it was a good movie. Beautiful scenery but sad too as the character became disillusioned.

    • taraSG permalink
      September 18, 2009 1:56 pm

      I’ve heard of it and never seen it. I wonder if I can get it on Netflix.

      • September 19, 2009 1:05 pm

        i’m sure you can. I got this movie because it was laying around my parents house and I thought “hey since this is on my list I should watch it.” Anyways I was thinking about getting a netflix subscription too but oooh there’s also this 1 dollar redbox movie rental too.

        • taraSG permalink
          September 19, 2009 2:38 pm

          I added it to my queue :) Since Shane I switch who gets to pick the movie I probably won’t get to see it for a week or two :/

Leave a Reply

