Skip to content

Dead and Gone

September 9, 2009

13. Read 101 books (19/101) (more info)

Rating ****1/2

NO Spoilers!

I will almost never include info that I think may ruin any part of a good book (or movie). I only write about style and how much I liked or didn’t like the continuation of the series. I just wanted to make that clear to any new readers jumping in with a post about the 9th book in a series :)

ALSO please don’t leave spoilers in the comments. I love to talk about books. If you want to discuss details/characters/plot twists of a book just shoot me an email!

URGH!!! You know how I said that Charliane Harris doesn’t leave the books with too bad of a cliffhanger and I thought I would be able to handle getting into the series when the next book doesn’t come out until May…. Apparently I was wrong and she was just saving it up for book 9 of the Southern Vampire series, Dead and Gone.

This is probably my favorite book of the series (and maybe 4… can you guess which vampire I love?). She continues with her talent of  building up action and mystery with the perfect touch of love interest and then wham!! throwing in a surprise ending! I may have sneaked a peak at the promo for the upcoming 10th book and it made me feel better, but I’m still not looking forward to waiting for the next book and knowing that I’ll have to wait again after finishing that one… No more unfinished series!

I’m hesitant to watch the TV series TrueBlood based on the books. I’m afraid it will ruin how I’ve imagined Sookie’s world :/ Anyone out there read and love the book series AND like the TV show?

I highly recommend at least reading the first book in the series to see if you’ll like it or not… but don’t blame me if you get hooked :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2009 5:27 am

    Aargh! I agree! I’m about to drive nails under my fingernails in the frustration of having to wait till May for Dead in the Family, and apparently there are going to be at least 4 more books, so that’s more dragging our the love triangle/square/pentagon… The other books seemed to have fairly final endings, which were lovely, but as they go on they become less and less standalone, I think. Dead and Gone seems more like part of a story than a full one, as the others have; I’m going nuts waiting and it’s only been a week!

    I just finished reading all 9 books last week, and went straight back to book 1 and started re-reading. Book 4 is definitely my fave, combined with the last… for similar reasons as you suggested :D

    I’ve watched the first season of True Blood (we don’t have s2 in Australia, yet) and I really enjoyed it. At times it’s quite lewd, but getting past that, it’s thoroughly entertaining. It doesn’t seem to take itself even remotely seriously, which is fun, but it still tells the tolerance angle that you get with the FoTS, and Arlene, and all that.

    Umm… the first season is VERY similar to the book. Parts of it are straight out. The second season is apparently quite different, and future seasons will apparently be just as, if not more, different… It’s different enough, and camp enough (SO camp!), to kind of keep as separate little world to how you imagine the world of the books. Of all the adaptations of novels I’ve read, it’s had the least effect on how I view the books, and the characters therein… I just can’t imagine my head Sookie as Anna Paquin… so they’re almost like separate characters in my head.

    Anyhow, sorry for the essay on your lovely blog! I just felt the urge to share! You inspired me to create my own 101!

    • taraSG permalink
      September 9, 2009 5:38 am

      YAY!! I’m not alone! I would start back up with the 1st book, but I gave it and the second to my mom… So I’m going to have to start up with the 3rd. Which is probably OK because I read the first two the slowest (not being completely hooked yet).

      I loved that they were stand alone books! I hope (and have heard) that she goes back to having a more final ending in the next book. Did you read the promo for book 10? At least we’ll have A Touch of Dead out next month :)

      That’s really good to know about the TV show! Thanks!! I’ll definitely have to see if a friend or the video store has it :)

      I’m glad you liked my blog! Thanks for checking it out! Good luck with making a 101 list and let me know if you want any help!

      • September 9, 2009 5:42 am

        Aw, shucks, thanks!
        Fingers crossed on more finality in the next one, because there’s another year to wait after that! I saw the synopsis on Amazon UK for 10, and was so happy I may have squealed out loud a little about the ‘has settled into a relationship with XXX’, but I’m maybe being a little obsessive about them… it’s the danger of reading them all at once, so close to each other… I should have spaced them out – I read them all in a week! I agree with you – I didn’t get really hooked until book 3 onwards, and that’s when I really started speed-reading, so I’m picking up a lot this time round.

        Good luck with next challenge!

        • taraSG permalink
          September 9, 2009 5:49 am

          Right there with you! I could barley stop to sleep between books specially the last few!

          Thanks!

          I edited your comment a little to take out the vampire’s name just in case people starting the series don’t want to know that ;)

          • September 9, 2009 5:50 am

            Thankyou! And sorry!

            • taraSG permalink
              September 9, 2009 5:51 am

              Not a problem :) I’m just excited to know I’m not the only one obsessed with the series so badly lol.

Leave a Reply

