Skip to content

(500) Days of Summer (2009)

August 27, 2009

29.   Watch 50 movies from IMDB’s top 250 (10/50) (more info)

30. Watch 101 new movies (31/101) (more info)

Rating ****1/2

I was 90% sure (500) Days of Summer was made directly for me (with music from my iTunes) until I saw that it was in IMDB’s Top 250 (#106), so it would appear that it also appeals to other people :)

The film centers around Tom, a greeting card writer, and his love for Summer, a girl who doesn’t believe in relationships. It was an accurate, heartwarming, funny look at real relationships. We jump back and forth through the 500 days from Tom’s point of view to see the ups and downs, but it was never confusing. Although Tom’s friends try to give him advice, it’s his adolecent sister that often knows just what to say.  I think one of my favorite lines in the movie is when his friend is asked about love and his girlfriend of 12(?) years and he says “If she were my dream girl she’d have bigger boobs and like sports more, but she’s better than my dream girl because she’s real”.

The acting was great. I LOVE Zooey Deschanel! I also really like Joseph Gordon-Levitt. The soundtrack was phenomenal!! Anything that isn’t already on my iTunes is currently being added :) I very highly recommend this movie!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 3:03 am

    Oh, that sounds brilliant. I really want to see it now :-)

  2. August 28, 2009 8:12 am

    This isn’t out over here yet so haven’t seen it. From what I have read about it if you like it you will probably like Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 28, 2009 1:27 pm

      My friend Alex liked Nick & Norah and I think it’s on Netflix’s instant play. From what I hear it’s good, but (500) Days of Summer is made for adults where Nick & Norah is more for teens. I’ll watch it next week and let you know :)

  3. Aманда permalink
    August 29, 2009 9:11 am

    I liked Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist! I also want to see this movie. I wonder if I can convince Kyle to see it with me. :)

    • taraSG permalink
      August 29, 2009 10:43 am

      Alex liked it. I think boys would find it funny too. It’s not a love story.

  4. September 7, 2009 11:40 am

    (500) Days of Summer opened here on Friday, I went to seen it yesterday, you and many other people have really recommended it. I really enjoyed it, I have just posted a review. Now I have seen and knowing how much you enjoyed it, I would recommend, In Search of a Midnight Kiss. It is a very different film but I think it will appeal to a similar audience. I actually think they use one of the same locations as well, although it is shot from a different angle so you can’t tell for sure.

    • taraSG permalink
      September 7, 2009 1:59 pm

      I’m glad you liked it! Really great review! I’ll definitely add that to my Netflix queue. Thank you :)

Trackbacks

  1. (500) Days of Summer « Redefinition Mission

Leave a Reply

