Skip to content

August Library Trip

August 26, 2009

15.   Visit the library once a month (4/33) (more info)

I originally thought that I wouldn’t even have to think about this goal. Of course I’d have to go once or twice a month to recheck out books… and then I learned the magic of online renewing :) So I had to make an extra effort to go this month and of course saved it for the last week. I picked up some books to help motivate me (because I don’t have enough books sitting around the house…). I’m planning on keeping these next to the bed and using them as “before bed” books and keep reading my other books during the day/early evening. So what did I get? Breath Sweeps Mind edited by Jean Smith this book has tons of mini-stories written by The Budda, Zen Master Man-an, The Dalia Lama, Thich Nhat Hahn, and more. The Dharma of Star Wars by Matthew Bortolin which looks to be a fun read. And finally The Principles of Running: Practical Lessons from My First 100,000 Miles by Amby Burfoot which will hopefully will help kickstart my renewed running routine.

library

PS. I also bought my own domain name!! And somewhat figured out what to do with it and my subdomains:

(they all forward to the site so you don’t have to worry about saving any new addresses I was just excited and wanted to share)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 10:54 pm

    Ooh that’s an awesome goal. I’ve been trying to read more books. I used to read very little and my 101 list has made me read a lot more. I’m starting to wish I aimed higher!

    • taraSG permalink
      August 26, 2009 11:12 pm

      With all the reading I intend to do it was necessary to join the library! I tend to buy books impulsively and it’s a lot cheaper to just borrow them :)

      It’s a lot easier to make a goal harder later on than to make it too hard, I think :)

  2. fruitloopdaydream permalink
    August 27, 2009 2:12 am

    I am so not on track with my reading goal! I’m starting to think I need to make “appointments” with myself to read books instead of spending all my free time online. Where, of course, I read, too, but it’s not the same as sitting with a book and some chocolate. ;-)

    • taraSG permalink
      August 27, 2009 11:23 am

      I need to do that too :) I spend a lot more time on my computer wasting time than reading books on my to-read list lol.

Leave a Reply

