Skip to content

Wall-E (2008)

August 20, 2009

29.   Watch 50 movies from IMDB’s top 250 (8/50) (more info)

30. Watch 101 new movies (28/101) (more info)

57.   Eat 10 things I’ve never tried before (9/10) (more info)

Rating ****1/2

Tonight for Finer Things Club we had shrimp in white wine sauce (which was a new food for me and was good) and watched Wall-E (2008). Shane and I hadn’t seen it before and both of us really enjoyed it!

What if mankind had to leave Earth, and somebody forgot to turn the last robot off? After hundreds of lonely years of doing what he was built for, Wall-E discovers a new purpose in life when he meets a beautiful robot named EVE. WALL-E chases EVE across the galaxy and sets into motion one of the most exciting and imaginative comedy adventures I’ve seen. The film is a scary and yet realistic view of the future. Shane was hesitant to watch the move because he heard that there wasn’t a lot of talking in it, but he ended up loving it as much as I did. You can’t help but fall in love with Wall-E as soon as you meet him. I very highly recommend seeing this movie. It’s even an instant watch for those with Netflix :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2009 11:16 pm

    I loooooooooooove Wall-E. I actually showed it in class last semester and we talked about how Wall-E does and does not conform to the classic hero standard.

    I love how he says, “Waaalll-eeeee” .. LOVE it. :)

    • taraSG permalink
      August 20, 2009 11:31 pm

      It was sooo cute and moving and funny! I knew I’d like it but I didn’t know I’d love it so much :) I wish my teacher showed movies like this is school!

  2. August 21, 2009 10:15 am

    I saw this film at the cinema LOVED it. Eeee-vuh!

    • taraSG permalink
      August 21, 2009 10:38 am

      I don’t know why I waited so long to see it!

  3. Chère permalink
    August 22, 2009 3:06 pm

    One of my very manly guy friends introduced me to this movie. He bought a Blu-Ray player when it came out on BR, just for this movie. I was a little shocked, because he’s big, macho, frat guy lawyer-man and here he is RAVING about this cartoon! So I go over and we watch it and before he puts it in he says that it is “one of the greatest love stories of our time.” Hyperbole, much?
    Well, I have to say. I adore it. It’s so sweet, and moving, and touching, and funny…it truly is a love story. I felt like I was holding my breath the entire time, I enjoyed it so. I never even really noticed the lack of dialogue until afterwards…it’s amazing what image and music can convey on their own!

    • taraSG permalink
      August 23, 2009 5:45 pm

      Haha I love when “tough” guys love cute love stories :) It really was impressive how much you can love a character that doesn’t really speak!

Leave a Reply

