Skip to content

District 9 (2009)

August 15, 2009

29.   Watch 50 movies from IMDB’s top 250 (7/50) (more info)

30. Watch 101 new movies (27/101) (more info)

Rating ****1/2

I headed back to the theater tonight to see District 9 (2009) with Shane and some friends. Wow! I really really liked this movie. It wasn’t what I was expecting.

It is shot in a History Channel documentary kind of way giving the film its own sense of realism, which I LOVED. The acting is great. The effects are amazing. The scenery and soundtrack were fantastic. There was a lot more gore than I expected, but don’t let that deter you. The story was so much more involved and touching than I expected. I went in thinking I was going to just another “boy movie” and instead saw an original look at our society through a sci-fi lens.

It’s set in Johannesburg, South Africa 2006, where 20 years earlier a spaceship appeared above the city and mysteriously stopped. Humans “rescued” the starving aliens inside it and rounded them up in an area called District 9, which quickly became a slum. They just want to go home, but we won’t let them.

Overall, I highly recommend seeing this movie. It’s great for both guys and girls. (Although I did have to turn away sometimes because of it being a little more um gross that I was prepared for lol.)

Random Note: I’ve decided from now on to count new movies that enter IMDB’s Top 250 within a week of watching them to goal 29 (more info).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 11:11 am

    Wow, I’m surprised it was this good. Again, great review!

  2. August 25, 2009 11:48 pm

    i really liked this movie too. as it stands, it’s the best movie i’ve seen since Children of Men.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 26, 2009 12:54 am

      I haven’t seen Children of Men in a long time, but I remember really liking it as well :)

      Thanks for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

