Skip to content

The Time Traveler’s Wife (2009)

August 14, 2009

30.   Watch 101 new movies (26/101) (more info)

Rating ****

Do not see the movie before reading the book! I know I always say that, but this time I really really mean it. I think the movie would be very confusing if you hadn’t read the book. I think I did a good job of leaving out spoilers….

I went to see The Time Traveler’s Wife (2009) this afternoon. I loved the book so much I gave it 5 stars. I’m not going to summarize the movie (you can read my book review for that). I’m torn on how to rate the movie. I got chills every single time I saw the preview. I went to the earliest showing in town and I really liked the movie. I laughed. I cried, but not nearly as much as I did while reading the book.

The actors were perfect. I couldn’t have asked for better performances from Eric Bana or Rachel McAdams. That and Eric Bana minus clothes is always a plus :)

They changed a lot, but that was to be expected.  I think they did a great job of cutting out unnecessary characters and scenes. Of course I didn’t reread the book prior to seeing the movie (so I would be more open minded) so I could be forgetting things. Actually the only change that really bothered me was the end (not a huge change so don’t worry).

However, the movie just felt like it was going too fast. I’ve read reviews that thought the movie was creepy because of Henry meeting Claire so young. This bothered them because they didn’t feel the rest of the movie built them as a mature couple and I would agree. They also didn’t explain Henry’s condition as well in the movie which could be very confusing.

Overall, I think they did a good job of taking a complex emotional book and translating it on film.

I think I may take Shane to see this and have him write a review. Should be interesting to see how someone who hasn’t read the book (and is male) feels about it.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 5:27 pm

    I feel very similarly about the film. It did move a bit quickly, but it’s a two hour movie from a very detailed book, so I can see why it had to move along. I like that they left out a lot of the more negative effects of the time travel and I think they did an excellent job of cutting excess characters and scenes. I HATE that they left out that part at the end, though. Grrrr.

    I did enjoy the book a lot more, but I liked the film.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 14, 2009 5:37 pm

      Exactly! I was worried how they would do some of the “darker” scenes, but they did an excellent job of omitting them without changing the story.

      I don’t understand why they changed the end! I don’t think it would have added much more time :(

      I went directly from the theater to the book store and got my own copy of the book so I can reread it :)

  2. August 14, 2009 5:30 pm

    Nice writing style. I look forward to reading more in the future.

  3. Stacey permalink
    August 14, 2009 7:27 pm

    I really wish I could get this book from the library already! I’ve been next in line for 2 weeks! I’m thinking about just buying it (which would be very new for me, I don’t really buy books, I visit the library ALOT). Thanks for the review I can’t wait to see the movie!

    • taraSG permalink
      August 15, 2009 12:19 am

      I tend to buy more books than I should lol. I’m trying to get into the habit of going to the library and then only buying the books I want to reread again :)

  4. August 14, 2009 7:45 pm

    Okay, you’ve inspired me to read the book now!!

    I’m not sure I can get it done before the movie is out of theatres, but I’m sure going to try. ;-)

    Great review!

    • taraSG permalink
      August 15, 2009 12:23 am

      Thanks!

      It’s a pretty fast read (I thought, but I’m not working right now and tend to read books all at once lol). I love the book, but I will say it’s very, very emotional.

  5. August 15, 2009 8:21 am

    Ooooh, I want to see this! I absolutely loved the book. Now I must find out when the film comes out here…

  6. Chère permalink
    August 15, 2009 11:15 am

    Since there are over 300 people on the wait list for this at my library I am just going to use the Border’s 40% off coupon on it to justify it, lol. Can’t wait to read it, but because I haven’t yet I’m waiting until it comes out on DVD to watch it. I know there’s no way I’ll get to the book while the movie is still in theaters.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 15, 2009 11:34 am

      I don’t think it’s one of those movies you have to see in theaters anyway :)

Leave a Reply

