Skip to content

Brideshead Revisited (2008)

August 10, 2009

30.   Watch 101 new movies (24/101) (more info)

Rating ****

I finally talked Shane into signing up for Netflix! Although we’re only getting one DVD at a time, we do get unlimited online movies/shows. Tonight I watched Brideshead Revisited (2008). I really enjoyed it. As always I’m at odds on how to review this without giving too much away. The film is based on Evelyn Waugh’s classic British novel, Brideshead Revisited and is a story of forbidden love and the loss of innocence set in England prior to the Second World War. I wish I would have read the book first. Although I’ll probably still look for it at the library. This movie touched on sexuality, family, class, friendship, and religion. It was a tad long and not overly exciting, so you may not want to watch this when tired. However, don’t let me talk you out of watching it. The scenery and music were enchanting and the acting superb. I highly recommend seeing this if you haven’t yet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 12:11 pm

    I didn’t realise there was a film of this. I really want to read the book though.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 10, 2009 1:31 pm

      I think it would be a really great book. I’m planning on waiting a little bit until the movie is out of my head before reading it :)

Leave a Reply

