Skip to content

Black & Tan

August 7, 2009

Shane’s 101 : 77. try a new kind of beer or wine once a month (4/33)

While at dinner tonight Shane tried a Black & Tan. This is a drink made from a blend of pale ale and a dark beer such as a stout or porter. I think his was Guinness Stout and Smithwick’s Irish Ale. He didn’t realize Guinness would be in it (even though Alex told him it would) and since he doesn’t like Guinness, he didn’t like the drink much.

black tan

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 10:47 pm

    A “proper” Black & Tan is made with Bass Ale and Guinness, though one made with Smithwick’s would be tasty, too.

    One made with Guinness and Harp is a Half & Half. Those are good, as well.

    /beer nerd

    • taraSG permalink
      August 8, 2009 1:00 am

      I had no idea there were so many kinds of Black & Tans lol

  2. Aманда permalink
    August 8, 2009 1:59 am

    My mom always has a Black & Tan for St. Patrick’s Day. I don’t drink beer and stick to Jameson. Ha.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 8, 2009 2:06 am

      I think I drink the girlest drink ever : Malibu (coconut rum) and diet. I should try to drink beer again or at least plain rum and diet :)

      • Aманда permalink
        August 8, 2009 2:19 am

        I think that the true girly drink test would be to see if a man would order (or make) the drink himself. The less likely he would be to drink something, the more girly it is.

        • taraSG permalink
          August 8, 2009 2:23 am

          Shane will drink mine or make one at home but barely ever orders it while out. But Shane can go from being uber manly (building a car while drinking beer) to not so manly (bitching because he can’t find his Mariah Carey cd) lol.

          • Aманда permalink
            August 8, 2009 2:28 am

            Oh yeah. A drink’s manliness or girliness all depends on who is there to see you drink it. I forgot about that part. Kyle has his alcohol collection arranged from most girly to most manly. He said he had trouble deciding whether scotch or whiskey was the most manly and had settled on whiskey. Until I mentioned that I like whiskey, of course.

            • taraSG permalink
              August 8, 2009 2:33 am

              Hahaha that’s too funny. Shane won’t even drink hard liquor so we barely keep it in the house. As long as we have wine I don’t complain :)

              • Aманда permalink
                August 8, 2009 2:41 am

                I will always need hard liquor handy, if only to use as a (temporary) pain reliever for cramps. Even if it doesn’t help the pain, I feel better, so it’s a win-win situation.

                • taraSG permalink
                  August 8, 2009 2:52 am

                  Hmm I might have to try that…

  3. August 8, 2009 4:51 am

    Black & Tan is an abomination and a waste of good Guinness and Bitter (not sure if you call it Bitter in America, it is general term that covers most Ale that isn’t stout or mild).

    Other mixed bears you sometimes see people drinking (they all taste terrible): Mickey Mouse or Golden depending on what part of the country you are in is a mix of larger and bitter. Snakebite is a mix of larger and cider. I have heard of the Half & Half the “beer nerd” described but don’t know anyone who has tried it, it sounds terrible! It must have a different name here as Half & Half refers to half bitter half mild.

    I’m with Aманда, can’t beet Jameson’s!

    • taraSG permalink
      August 8, 2009 1:17 pm

      I think the Snakebite is the only one that sounds tolerable lol. I’ve heard that beer in America isn’t as good in general compared to beer in Europe.

      • August 8, 2009 3:53 pm

        Oh, dude. There are hundreds of American craft brewers that make beer that’s equal in quality to (or superior to, in my opinion) European beer.

        There’s Sierra Nevada, New Belgium, Boulder, et al. Nearby there is Schlafly (St. Louis), Goose Island and Two Brothers (both Chicago).

        The stereotype of fizzy corporate piss-water is a thing of the past.

        • taraSG permalink
          August 9, 2009 3:43 pm

          To be honest, I’m not a beer drinker at all. My information on beer tasting better in Europe comes from family members that have traveled there and that was their opinion. I’ve heard that Goose Island and 319(?) from Chicago is good. I’ve just heard that even beer we have here too (Guinness) tastes better in Ireland.

  4. reeltoreel permalink
    August 8, 2009 1:05 pm

    Black and Blue is pretty good. It’s Guinness and Blue Moon. I’m not a big fan of Guinness, either, but with the Blue Moon, it’s not terrible.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 8, 2009 1:18 pm

      Shane really likes Blue Moon. I’ll have to have him try one of those.

  5. August 8, 2009 5:32 pm

    There is good and bad beer all over the world. Personally I love Guinness and any good bitter (Marston’s and Bass were traditionally brewed near where I live but the brewing is getting shipped out all over the place these days) for larger, the best I have had comes from the Czech Republic. Austrian and German in good too, French and Belgian is okay but for Ale it has to be England or Ireland. In America I had some good locally brewed Ale in San Francisco, don’t know what its called though. I haven’t been to Chicago but I am told by people who have been that there are some top micro breweries there. I also had Shiner Bock in Texas that was good but couldn’t find in other states.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 9, 2009 3:45 pm

      I really wish I liked beer. I think it’s an acquired taste that I just haven’t tried to like. My friends and husband like to visit micro breweries and they seem to like the locally made beer. I can stand to drink Blue Moon or other fruity flavored beer, but in general I stick with wine or mixed drinks :)

  6. August 9, 2009 11:03 am

    Black and Tan is awful, but then I’m not a big fan of Guiness. I like Snakebite & black (cider mixed with lager with a bit of blackcurrant syrup).

    Thanks for stopping by my blog :-) I’m off to check out your 101 things list now.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 9, 2009 3:46 pm

      That sounds like something I might like! Hmm I might have to try a Snakebite next time I go out :)

Leave a Reply

