Skip to content

The Dodos

August 1, 2009

28.   Find a new musical artist a month (4/33) (more info)

I’m overloaded with new artists. I found a petty cool new website for finding music, The Hype Machine. I am refraining from including Monsters of Folk until their album comes out in September, but I’m still brainstorming on what I can bribe Shane with to let me go to the concert. I would give my left nut to see that concert and I only have the one nut. So you see how serious I am (Fanboys reference. Sorry). I’m not sure that I can put into words how excited I am for that album/concert…

Out of the new artists I downloaded I’ve chosen to review The Dodos (I’ll list my other great finds at the end). I know I’ve heard this group before. Probably in a commercial, TV show or movie. They are the exact kind of music I’m into right now. Fun Indie Folk. I’ve downloaded The Visiter and Time To Die. The band offers a blend of intricate drumming, remarkable acoustic guitar and touching vocals. They sound like some of the other bands out there right now (The Shins, Band of Horses, and the Fleet Foxes) but are somehow still unique. Although I like both albums, Time To Die is my favorite. All the songs can be listened to closely and evoke emotions or simply play in the background and soothe your soul.

Favorite songs at the moment this post was written (click to listen):

The Visiter – Fools

Time To Die – Fables

the-dodos

Other Great Finds:

The Monsters of Folk – Self Titled Album (I’ll post about them at Time Vampire later)

Why? – Alopecia

The Octopus Project – Golden Beds

White Rabbits – It’s Frightening (Thanks Justin for suggesting them!)

The Viens – Nux Vomica

The Viels – Sun Gangs

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 11:05 am

    The Dodos are excellent. I’ve too been getting into the Indie folk rock music movement. Favorite new stuff: The Avett Brothers, Deer Hunter, The Dirty Projectors. Also, check out the Everybodyfields

    • taraSG permalink
      August 2, 2009 1:21 pm

      I’ve heard the of Deer Hunter but I’ll have to check out the rest. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

