Skip to content

Destined for an Early Grave

July 29, 2009

13. Read 101 books (10/101) (more info)

Rating ****

I don’t know what’s more interesting, my review of the book or the story of how I got it

I came across and devoured the first three books of the Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost a little over a week ago. After reading them all in one sitting I was counting down the days until the release of the fourth book, Destined to an Early Grave. I did reread the books this week to make sure I didn’t miss anything and well because I like to reread books. Again I feel I should preface this with the warning that I haven’t slept yet :) I’m also at odds on how to review this without giving too much away about the previous books…

I really liked this book. Maybe not quite as much as the first three, but still really enjoyed it. In the fourth book, Cat finds herself dreaming of another man claiming to be her real husband from a past she can’t remember. This begins an emotional roller coaster. I’ll admit the last one had me tearing up, but this hit a little close to home.

Everything that mattered to me – my relationship with Bones, my independence, being there for my friends, taking down murders – all that was in tatters.

Ok, so maybe I don’t normally take down murders, but the rest struck a chord. Cat feels alienated and quite frankly worthless. She quit her job, misses her friends, and is fighting with her beau. Things I can undeniably relate to. I will admit that book was fairly predictable to a point. However, there were plenty of Holy Shit! moments. It also played on some cliche relationship story lines, but I wasn’t reading this to expand my knowledge. It was for entertainment and I found it entertaining. I will say that as much as I appreciate the author not leaving us with a huge cliffhanger, she also seems to end her books with a BAM and then two sentences later The End. I tend to like the extra chapter at the end that eases you down from the climax. However, I’m still in shock so maybe it’s a good thing. And as far as “no cliffhanger” goes… don’t worry there’s plenty to think about until the next book comes out… in 2011 :(

Sidenote: I’ve decided that although I’ll continue to count books I’ve already read, a book can only be counted once for my 101 list.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aманда permalink
    July 29, 2009 8:23 am

    Sometimes, a connection and entertainment is all you need from a book. :) I also hate out reading a series. Or an author, for that matter. The waiting for another book blows.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 29, 2009 3:14 pm

      So very true!

      I normally don’t start a series until it’s finished (like Twilight) because I’m not patient enough to wait for the next book. I just have to try to throw myself into a new book :)

  2. Chère permalink
    July 29, 2009 10:32 am

    Oh waiting…I hate it!

Leave a comment