Skip to content

Fresh Mint Ice Cream

July 26, 2009

50. Try 2 new recipes a month (3/33) (more info)

Ok so I’ve already made my 2 recipes for the month, however, I’ve decided to post any new recipes I try regardless. I’ll do this for other goals I’ve accomplished as well. This will help me to decide how hard/easy to make my goals for my next list.

Onto the Fresh Mint Ice Cream! Shane was upset that I tried out my new ice cream maker while he was gone. So I let him choose what flavor I’d make this time. He picked mint. I didn’t think I liked mint ice cream. I was wrong :) It was delicious!! It was even easier to make than the last batch (possibly because I already had an idea of what I would be doing). It was creamy with the perfect touch of mint. Tara: 9/10 Shane: 9.5/10

mint ice cream

mint

a single package was the perfect amount

  • 6 large egg yolks
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups whole milk (I used skim milk, but might use half skim/ half whole next time)
  • 2 cups fresh mint leaves, loosely packed
  • 1 cup heavy cream

1. In large bowl, whisk together egg yolks and 1/2 cup sugar.

2. In heavy medium saucepan over moderately low heat, stir together milk, remaining 1/4 cup sugar, and mint. Heat until steaming but not boiling, then remove from heat.

3. Ladle about 1/2 cup hot milk mixture into egg yolk mixture, whisking constantly to prevent eggs from cooking, then slowly stir the egg mixture back into the hot milk, whisking constantly. Place over low heat, and cook, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens enough to coat back of spoon (finger drawn across spoon will leave clear path), 5 to 6 minutes total (do not let boil or custard will curdle).

4. Strain through fine-mesh sieve into large bowl, pressing on and then discarding solids. Whisk in heavy cream. Cover and chill until cold, at least 6 hours or overnight. (I stuck it in the freezer for about an hour and it was cool)

4. Process custard in ice cream maker.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

