Skip to content

Knowing

July 25, 2009

30.   Watch 101 new movies (20/101) (more info)

Rating **

Shane and I watched Knowing (2009) tonight. It was terrible. Laughably terrible so it gets two stars. The film begins in the year 1959 with a frightened and disturbed little girl named Lucinda drawing up pictures for the school’s time capsule. Lucinda drew up a weird system of numbers. 50 years later, John Koestler an astronomer and a professor at MIT is at his son, Caleb’s school to open up the time capsule and was given Lucinda’s system of numbers. When John was looking at the numbers, he quickly realized that it was some type of code that predicted the month, date and year of a specific disaster, and how many people died in that particular disaster. After witnessing a plane crash at Logan International Airport, and saving people from a freak New York Subway accident, John realizes that the last disaster on the code is the end of the world. Meanwhile, Caleb witnesses strange people who stalk him, and a little girl named Abby and her mother named Diana. I don’t want to go much further in depth because although both Shane and I found it very predictable, I don’t want to ruin it for those who haven’t seen it.

I don’t dislike Nicholas Cage like a lot of people do. I actually thought I would like this. However, I found myself calling it stupid out loud and wishing that one of the leads would die. The effects weren’t even as good as I would have wanted. All in all, don’t pay to see it, but it might not be a complete waste of time if you have nothing better to do.

EDIT : 07.26.09

If you want to read a full review that discusses the plot holes, check out what Andy wrote over at Fandango Groovers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2009 8:52 am

    You said: “I don’t want to ruin it for those who haven’t seen it” No, please ruin it for those who haven’t seen it, it may put them off seeing it!

    Did you see my review/rant from a couple of months back?
    http://fandangogroovers.wordpress.com/2009/04/14/not-knowing-why-this-film-was-made/

    • taraSG permalink
      July 26, 2009 4:19 pm

      I didn’t but I’m going to edit the post to link to it :)

  2. August 5, 2009 9:12 pm

    Ugh, damnit, why did you let me watch that?! It’s the same plot as Left Behind! That really irritates me! STILL not a fan of Nicholas Cage…

    ****SPOILER****
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *

    Even the aliens had wings!! And the tree of knowledge was sooo obvious! FUCK that movie… haha, I can’t remember the last time a movie annoyed me so much. It wasted so much of my time.

Leave a Reply

