Skip to content

Cinnamon Ice Cream

July 22, 2009

50.   Try 2 new recipes a month (3/33) (more info)

I got a Cuisinart Ice-20 Ice Cream Maker for my birthday from my parents :) I finally got to make my first batch of ice cream tonight. I found a recipe at AllRecipes.com for Cinnamon Ice Cream and it looked pretty good and easy so that’s what I went with. It was AMAZING! It tasted like a snicker-doodle! Tara 9.5/10

cuisinart

cin ice

  • 1 cup white sugar (I actually used real sugar)
  • 1 1/2 cups half-and-half cream (I used Fat Free)
  • 2 eggs, beaten (used egg whites… not sure if that’s normal or not…)
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon (I only used 1 tsp and it was cinnanmony enough for me)
  1. If you’re new to making ice cream with an ice cream maker please note that you have to keep the freezer bowl in the freezer until frozen BEFORE even starting which takes 6-12 hours. I didn’t know this and had to put off making this for a day :(
  2. In a saucepan over medium-low heat, stir together the sugar and half-and-half. When the mixture begins to simmer, remove from heat, and whisk half of the mixture into the eggs. Whisk quickly so that the eggs do not scramble. Pour the egg mixture back into the saucepan, and stir in the heavy cream. Continue cooking over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon. Remove from heat, and whisk in vanilla and cinnamon. Set aside to cool.
  3. Pour cooled mixture into an ice cream maker, and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. (I had it going for 30 minutes so it would be a little thicker)
10 Comments leave one →
  1. jnylyn78 permalink
    July 22, 2009 9:06 pm

    Oooh, I’ll have to make this one! Welcome to the ice cream maker club, you’re gonna love it! Tonight I made Strawberry Ice Cream for my Mom’s bday!

    • taraSG permalink
      July 22, 2009 9:23 pm

      I think I’ll try Strawberry Ice Cream next. I’m pretty sure I’m going to get addicted to making ice cream :)

  2. Chère permalink
    July 23, 2009 10:36 am

    Oh my goodness, yummy! I’ve been pondering buying an ice cream maker for a couple of weeks now. I keep seeing all these fabulous ice cream/sorbet/gelato recipes and wanting to make them. I’m thinking it’d be cheaper (in the long run) and healthier to make my own than to buy the expensive, full of chemicals, addicting stuff from the supermarket. If I’m going to remain addicted to it (which is likely) might as well know that *I* made it! :) You can see I’m still trying to justify the purchase to myself, lol.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 23, 2009 1:20 pm

      They really aren’t that expensive specially if you eat ice cream as much I do :) And the ingredients are usually pretty cheap and it is definitely is healthier :)

  3. July 23, 2009 1:17 pm

    I love cinnamon ice cream! I remember, the first time I had it was at some ice cream place in Savannah.
    I haven’t used our ice cream maker in ages. I think it’s time to break it out with this recipe.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 23, 2009 1:38 pm

      It was really easy to make. Although I think it tastes better and has a better consistency after being in the freezer overnight :)

  4. July 23, 2009 9:41 pm

    Wow. That ice cream looks delicious. Now I want to go and eat some!

    • taraSG permalink
      July 23, 2009 10:05 pm

      It looked even better tonight after being in the freezer overnight. I should have taken a new picture :)

  5. Shane Gill permalink
    July 24, 2009 3:10 pm

    I remember when my wife made ice cream for the first time, without me!

    Im thinking MINT! Will make up for it.
    Love you

    • taraSG permalink
      July 24, 2009 3:13 pm

      love you too. i’ll make mint. maybe if you’re really nice i’ll even make peanut butter :)

Leave a Reply

