Skip to content

Language Lesson : Week 9

July 15, 2009

82. Learn 2 new French words and 1 French idiom a week (9/143) (more info)

83. Learn 2 new ASL signs a week (9/143) (more info)

French Vocab:

magie(n. f) – magic : Cela est de la magie noire : That is black magic.

ami(e) – (n. m (f)) – friend : J’ai des amis merveilleux : I have wonderful friends.

French Idiom

à fleur de – at the level of; even with [the surface of]

ASL vocab

magic – Both hands make a circular motion and then change to open 5-hands. (video)

movie – The open 5-hand is waved back and forth atop the back of the left hand. (video)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Chère permalink
    July 15, 2009 3:26 pm

    One of the students I tutored in French (I actually had him for 3 years) had the hardest time with “ami”…the very first year (FR 101), he couldn’t get it to stick in his head that he had to say mon ami, even if the “ami” was a girl! I tried everything I could to get him to remember it, but he always said ma amie…he took to calling me mamie :)

    • taraSG permalink
      July 15, 2009 4:25 pm

      I honestly didn’t know that (or remember it). Thank you :)

      • Chère permalink
        July 15, 2009 6:36 pm

        Oops, I made a mistake – you would write mon amiE for a girl…anyway, the important part à l’orale is the “mon”…it’s because of the double A (the “hiatus”); you need the consonant from mon to lead you into the “a” sound. {I have heard that m’amie is occasionally used in songs, poems, jokes etc. but I’ve never heard it}

  2. bookishpenguin permalink
    July 15, 2009 10:26 pm

    Ah, those words remind me of the novel (and film) Chocolat. Okay, it’s not like Dickens or Hemingway, but I had to teach it for two years and learned to have a certain, fond love/hate relationship with it… but I always love the French.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 16, 2009 1:21 pm

      I think I saw the film a long time ago but I’ve never read the book. Would you recommend reading it?

      • bookishpenguin permalink
        July 16, 2009 1:24 pm

        The book is quite different from the film. If you’re interested in novel-to-film adaptation, it’s worth checking out. It’s a quick and easy read – probably would classify it like a beach read, almost.

Leave a Reply

