Skip to content

Night Huntress Series

July 13, 2009

13. Read 101 books (7-9/101) (more info)

Ratings

Halfway to the Grave ****

One Foot in the Grave ****

At Grave’s End ****

I had never heard of the Night Huntress Series by Jeaniene Frost before and came across it on Amazon. It sounded interesting I went out and got the hard copies. I ended up really, really liking this series. At first I wasn’t going to write a review for the books because they were such a guilty pleasure :) However, when I stayed up to read all 3 books in a row (15 hours… told you I had a tendency to do this lol), I figured I should write something. I’ve also been up since noon yesterday so please excuse any poor grammer/spelling/ reviews… :p

The first book, Halfway to the Grave, introduces us to Cat, a half-vampire/half-human vampire huntress. While the 22-year-old is out trolling for vamps (trying to avenge for what her father did to her mother), she runs across Bones, a British witty vampire who hunts vampires. (I almost pictured him as Spike from BTVS) She hates him. He trains her. Romance ensues. I will say there is some paragraphs that will make you blush (even a little more so in the next books). But if it was all about sex there is no way I would be reviewing them lol. There is also a lot kick-ass fighting, a little bit of gore, likable characters, and a good plot. Once I finished this one I didn’t hesitate starting the next one.

The second and third books (One Foot in the Grave & At Grave’s End) continued to build the returning characters while smoothly introducing new ones. I thought all books contained the right mix of romance and action with a few laughs and tears. I even pre-ordered the fourth book, Destined for an Early Grave, that comes out July 28th. Overall, I enjoyed these much more than the Anita Blake series.

JFrostwallpaper4Now the only question is should I start reading the Harry Potter books again to keep me busy until July 28th or actually read the books I got from the library… we’ll see how HP excited I am after the movie tomorrow night :)

EDIT : 07.14.09

Yesterday I called this a grown-up Twilight. That was not accurate. I’m going to blame it on being up for 30 hours. Twilight is mushy and all about Bella and Edward. These have romance and some sex, but that is not the plot of the story. That and they’re well written. Don’t get me wrong, I like Twilight. However, those are complete guilty pleasures and I feel like the Night Huntress books have a good enough story line and characters to leave that category.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 5:25 am

    Never heard of these but then I’m probably not the target audience! I started reading Circus of the Damned last night. I’m about half way through. It’s been a couple of years since I read the first two but I quickly remembered why I hadn’t rushed to read the third one. The main character is great as are many of the supporting characters but I am not keen on the setting. Obviously the vampire myth is open to lots of interpretation ranging from a scientific near reality right through to a mystic fantasy setting. These books try to be both and it often doesn’t work. I am looking forward to The Strain, the first of Guillermo del Toro’s trilogy. I was waiting for the paperback (don’t like big bulky hardbacks and think they are very overpriced) but may give in and get the hardback.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 14, 2009 3:36 pm

      Calling this a grown-up Twilight was not accurate. I’m going to blame it on being up for 30 hours. Twilight is mushy and all about Bella and Edward. These have romance and some sex, but that is not the plot of the story. That and they’re well written. I’m going to have my husband read them when I get hard copies.

      I had the opposite problem with the Anita Blake series. I love the setting. I live about an 1 1/2 from St Louis and go there often. We’re actually going this weekend for my birthday :) However, I just don’t like Anita. I’m not sure why. I think some of it might be because I know how much the writer changes her in the future books.

      I’ve heard of The Strain. I think my aunt has it. It does look good, but I’ll probably also wait until it’s available in paperback or at the library.

  2. July 15, 2009 4:24 am

    When I say setting I don’t refer to the geographical setting, it is the “Universe” it is set in, the blend of fantasy and reality that don’t always work. I didn’t know anything about how the character changes until you mentioned it. it will be interesting to see how that happens. As the books are written in the first person she will have to acknowledge what she is doing and how she feels about it.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 15, 2009 2:02 pm

      Ah, yeah this didn’t really bother me either. Honestly, I didn’t think anything of it. If I read the next one I’ll probably pay more attention to it.

  3. July 20, 2009 6:03 am

    I have now finished Circus of the Dammed and actually enjoyed it (despite an annoying continuity error). Not ready for the next one yet I don’t like to read books by the same author one after the other. Could you send me the first of the Night Huntress Series please, I will give that a go now you have amended you review to make it sound less girlie!

    • taraSG permalink
      July 20, 2009 1:07 pm

      I know what you mean. Some series I like to finish all at once, but some I need a break in between. I sent the first book. Hope it’s not too girlie :)

  4. July 21, 2009 11:29 am

    Thanks for the book. I have started reading another Trudy Canavan, not as good as the ones I recommended to you. I will read this next.

  5. August 18, 2009 11:13 am

    Forgot to mention the other problem you said about “I almost pictured him as Spike from BTVS” so every time I read a line of dialogue I pictured spike and heard his terrible English accent! Still I may have come to the same conclusion myself without you prompting me!

    Thanks for the email by the way.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 18, 2009 2:02 pm

      Hahaha sorry :) But he does seem like him, doesn’t he? I really need to go back and rewatch BTVS. I haven’t even seen a lot of the later episodes because I lost interest when I started college.

      Anytime. Just let me know if you want more :)

  6. August 19, 2009 2:14 pm

    It really lost its way towards the end. I recently caught up with the last couple of seasons of Angel. Spike features heavily and in the absence of Cordelia is the best character in it.

    I’m sure I will be back for more soon. Not sure when, I don’t read as quickly as you and reading other things as well.

    I just looked at your recent books. How are you getting on with Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? I read it years ago.

    I was looking at the Kim Harrison books in the bookshop the other day. I love the titles but didn’t like the look of the books.

    • taraSG permalink
      August 19, 2009 3:10 pm

      Yeah I didn’t catch most of the end of Angel either. I want to go back and watch it though. I liked Cordelia a lot specially in Angel (at least in the episodes I saw). Now that we signed up for Netflix I’m hoping to get through my to-watch list faster. I think we’re watching Let the Right One In tonight or tomorrow.

      Well… I got another new book and put it down. I’m planning on reading it next. I liked the beginning. I just have ADD when it comes to picking a book to read lol.

      I didn’t like the first Kim Harrison book (Dead Witch Walking), but I’ve heard that the others are better. After I get my to-read list down a little, I may pick up the second one. I’ll be sure to let you know if it’s any good.

  7. August 19, 2009 3:25 pm

    Let the right one in is the best film I have seen so far this year. Let me know what you think about it.

  8. September 28, 2009 5:22 pm

    Had a break from vampires for a few weeks. I am about to start reading this or The Lunatic Café. I will probably end up reading them both and come back to you for the next ones soon!

    • taraSG permalink
      September 28, 2009 5:32 pm

      Let me know how you like them :)

Trackbacks

  1. Twitted by taraSG

Leave a Reply

