Skip to content

He’s Just Not That Into You

July 9, 2009

30.   Watch 101 new movies (11/101) (more info)

I gave in and watched He’s Just Not That Into You (2009) tonight. I’d read some not so good reviews (one of which I cannot find for the life of me and says exactly what I’m going to say). However, Alex said it was good so I gave it a shot. The only way this movie could be considered “good” is if it’s trying to be ironic. It gave the exact opposite message that was intended. He’s doing this and won’t change… except he does change. I think that the WORST was when the wife who was being cheated on blamed herself because they hadn’t had sex in a while. WTF?! I’ll admit I laughed and who doesn’t love a happy ending. But don’t be a movie trying to teach women when men are not into them and then break every rule you put on the screen. I’m not going to say don’t watch it because the entertainment value was ok, but please please please don’t take advice from this movie’s story.

EDIT : 07.09.09

Here is the review by Bookish Penguin that I mentioned above :)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. bookishpenguin permalink
    July 9, 2009 8:04 am

    That’s how I felt about it, too. They took a good idea and ruined it.

  2. July 9, 2009 8:17 am

    I never saw the movie. The book this movie was based off was really good though.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 9, 2009 12:28 pm

      I’ve heard the book is good and am thinking about adding it to my to-read list. I wonder if I would like the movie more or less if I had read the book.

      • bookishpenguin permalink
        July 9, 2009 12:40 pm

        The book is more informational, not like a novel or anything. It’s like a tongue-in-cheek self-help book. I have it so I recommend borrowing it from a friend or the library, not buying it. You won’t read it twice.

        • taraSG permalink
          July 9, 2009 12:51 pm

          Thanks! I’ll bet at least one of my girl friends have it :)

      • July 9, 2009 3:06 pm

        The book should not be taken as the bible of dealing with men, and what the author says in the book certainly does not apply to all men (I think it is extraordinarily important to point out that each relationship is different because each person has their own personality and so forth, so no book will ever be able to properly advise you on relationships), but an underlying theme of the book was: You ARE good enough and to stop wasting your time on men who don’t deserve it. This is something that more women need to hear and to know.

        • taraSG permalink
          July 9, 2009 4:53 pm

          I was lucky to meet my husband when I was 18 (I guess you can call it lucky lol). So I never really got into reading this, but I think it would be a fun read even if I’m not in the dating scene.

  3. bluefox864 permalink
    July 9, 2009 8:45 am

    Oh honey, I think you missed the point. There was definite irony at play all throughout this movie. I think the movie showed a lot of truth about love and relationships, and how people deal with them. The woman who was dating was obsessing over guys calling her back and wasn’t realizing her behavior was scaring them away. But also she was definitely putting herself out there increasing her chances of finding love. Justin Long’s character thought he knew all the rules about dating, but he didn’t realize how much he actually liked the girl.

    Jennifer Aniston was wanting to get married to her boyfriend because she believed it was what you need to do when you’re in a relationship, even though she had a good thing going with Ben Affleck.

    When she has trouble with her marriage, Jennifer Connely blames herself instead of addressing the real issues in her marriage, and a lot of women (and people) do that. It’s easy to look at her character and think how stupid she is, but it’s not so easy when you find yourself in that situation.

    I see the movie as being very truthful and showing a lot of real aspects of love. No one really knows the key to true love right away. We’ve all played one of these roles in our romantic lives at some point.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 9, 2009 12:27 pm

      I don’t think so. I don’t think the movie was trying to be that ironic (and it shouldn’t have). It was based off a book (that I’ve heard is actually good) and then went against everything the book says. The women were whiny and self-centered and frankly most of them were unlikable. The happy Hollywood endings might have worked had the premise of the movie not been “this won’t happen”. Parts of the movie were truthful, but as a whole it failed.

  4. Chère permalink
    July 9, 2009 1:32 pm

    I think if you went into this movie expecting it to be all self-helpy and serious (like I imagine the book is? I’ve never read it and don’t really have any desire to…) it would be a disappointment. I understand that it doesn’t mesh with the message of the book (but since I haven’t read it I don’t know that for sure), but when do movies match a book plot point for plot point?
    I just assumed going in that the movie had its own message and I enjoyed it :) I went because I love the actors in it and I knew it would be funny. I went with about a dozen other girls and we had a blast. In fact, now that I think of it, I saw it twice (someone couldn’t go the first time).
    Even though I disagree with your final assessment (and that’s just personal taste), this was a good review! :)

    • taraSG permalink
      July 9, 2009 1:43 pm

      Thank you :) I’m sure the way I felt about the movie had to do with what I was expecting out of it. If I hadn’t expected it to convey the same message as the book, I would have enjoyed it more. I loved the cast too :)

Leave a Reply

