Skip to content

Carina Round

July 8, 2009

28.   Find a new musical artist a month (3/33) (more info)

Andy at Fandango Groovers suggested that I check out Carina Round, a British singer/songwriter. I couldn’t find her first album, The First Bloody Mystery, so I downloaded her second and third. The Disconnection was definitely my favorite of the two. Carina describes her second album as “confronting things like joy, anger, pain and confusion and letting them go.” I think this is a good way to sum it up. Her voice is so entrancing. It’s kind of like kick-ass girl music but without being over the top. I get the impression her third album, Slow Motion Addict wasn’t as well received as the first two (I could very well be wrong). I really liked this album as well. Slow Motion Addict is definitely bigger. Big bellowing vocals, Big production. Carina Round is different from anything else I’ve been listening to lately and I mean that in a good way.Thanks Andy!

carina

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 10:38 am

    See somehow reminds me of flyleaf.

  2. July 8, 2009 11:47 am

    Glad you like it. I think I said at the time the first album is my favourite. The third album didn’t come out in the UK for nearly a year after it came out in America so I had to get it imported from Amazon (I still buy CD’s, not into downloading yet). If you get the chance (she spends more time in America than England these days) go and see her live. I have seen her with a full band and an acoustic set on her own, both were fantastic.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 8, 2009 12:08 pm

      I tried to find her first album, but had no luck. I’ll keep looking. I should check out her tour dates and see if she plays in the midwest at all. I saw one of her acoustic sets on youtube and it looked like a good show. Thanks again for suggesting her!

  3. July 8, 2009 4:51 pm

    Her US gigs tend to mainly be LA and New York, I missed her by a week when I was in LA last year (I think it was the Viper Room). I have just found out she is in Birmingham next week so will hopefully go.

  4. July 16, 2009 3:37 am

    I went to see Carina Round last night as planed. It was at the Birmingham Academy, possibly the last time I go there before it is knocked down and they go to their new venue. The gig was great as usual; this is the third time I had seen her live.

    She came out with an acoustic guitar (I have seen like this and with a band previously) did about three songs then someone from the audience shouted out “play Ribbons” (a track from her first album) and she just said “okay” and played it. After that she admitted she didn’t have a set list and asked people to call out if there is anything you want to hear. There was lots of interaction with the audience, telling a few stories and joking with the crowd. At the end I purchased a copy of her new EP with five new songs, she had played most of them throughout the set. This was my first opportunity to get the EP on CD as it has previously only been available to download, something I am not yet into. I must be one of the last people in the world not to have an Ipod! I then had a chance for a quick chat with her and got my CD signed. A really good night.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 16, 2009 1:24 pm

      Wow that sounds like a great show! I’d love to hear her acoustic stuff. When I start planing a trip to the West coast I’ll have to look her up.

  5. July 17, 2009 11:50 am

    From what she said in the show she is not living in LA anymore. She did two dates in New York, three in Canada and she has two coming up in London after that nothing is listed. If you get the chance she if well worth seeing live.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 17, 2009 12:24 pm

      Maybe I’ll be able to catch a show when I visit my sister in NY.

Leave a Reply

