Skip to content

Defiance

July 5, 2009

30.   Watch 101 new movies (10/101) (more info)

My parents had me and Shane over for pizza tonight and we watched Defiance. The film opens with on-screen text stating: “A true story”. It is August 1941 and Nazi forces are sweeping through Eastern Europe, targeting Jewish people. Among the survivors not killed or restricted to ghettoes are the Bielski brothers: Tuvia (Daniel Craig), Zus (Liev Schreiber), Asael (Jamie Bell), and Aron (George MacKay). Their parents are dead, slain by the local police under orders from the occupying Germans. The brothers flee to the forest, vowing to avenge their parents. They encounter other Jewish escapees hiding in the forest and the brothers take them under their protection and leadership. Over the next year, they shelter a growing number of refugees, raiding local farms for food and supplies, moving their camp whenever they are discovered by the Germans. I don’t want to give the whole story away but the descendants of the people they saved now number in the tens of thousands. The movie was filmed in three months in Lithuania, just across the border from Belarus. They felt the shooting locations, between 150 and 200 kilometers from the actual sites, lent authenticity; some local extras were descended from families that had been rescued by the group. We all really liked the movie and I’m thinking about adding the book to my to-read list. It’s a long movie, but I highly recommend it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 12:10 am

    I really liked this movie. I thought the acting was terrific and the story is just incredible. It gives me hope.
    The actress who plays Chaya is also going to be in Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland as Alice.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 6, 2009 12:16 am

      I completely agree! She is?! I cannot wait for that movie! I really like Tim Burton and Johnny Depp. I actually should add the book to my to-read list before the movie comes out :)

  2. July 6, 2009 1:35 am

    I should watch/read that. Sounds interesting!

  3. July 6, 2009 7:43 am

    Yes it is a good film I saw an interview with the cast when it came out, Daniel Craig told a story about Tuvia moving to America after the war (New York I think) and never talking about what happened. His grandchildren didn’t know anything about it until the book was written about him.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 6, 2009 9:42 am

      Really? Wow. I wonder who told their story. If it was one of the other brothers or someone else who knew them that well.

Trackbacks

  1. Twitted by taraSG

Leave a Reply

