Skip to content

Circus of the Damned

June 27, 2009

13.   Read 101 books (4/101) (more info)

18.   Read 5 books suggested by friends or family (1/5) (more info)

Rating **

I stayed up all night to finish Circus of the Damned by Laurell K Hamilton. After I finished the last page, I took a look at the back cover and realized that I accidentally skipped a book in the series. A book that I have on my coffee table. However, I didn’t notice I had skipped it so I’m not going back to read it.

Circus of the Damned is the third book in the Anita Blake series. Anita is a zombie-raising vampire killer who is being romanced by the Master Vampire, Jean-Claude. I was given the first book in the series by a friend and the second two by one of my aunts. I’ll admit that I’m not a big fan of the lead girl, however, the book is such a page-turner that I couldn’t stop because I needed to know how it ended. This one doesn’t go further than kissing, but I’ve heard that once you get to book 7 or 8 the series turns way more adult. From what I’ve read on Amazon, it didn’t go over well with Hamilton’s fan base. Anita (in the books that I’ve read) is shy and kick-ass tough. So I can see readers being upset with her becoming somewhat of a whore later in the series. I don’t think I’ll go out of my way to get the next book, but if someone lends it to me I’ll probably read it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2009 7:46 am

    I have read the first two but no further as yet. From what I remember (it has been a couple of years since I read it) The second book that you skipped (The Laughing Corpse) concentrates more on raising Zombies.

    I have recently read Already Dead. The first in a series by Charlie Huston. It is an interesting story as it is about vampires but written in the style of pulp crime fiction.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 28, 2009 1:06 pm

      I thought the third one was better than the first. Perhaps I should go ahead and read the second one since I have it. I’m assuming you learn more about her being a necromancer and that may play a more important role later in the series.

      That looks like an interesting book. I don’t think my library has it, but there were some cheap copies on Amazon. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

