Skip to content

The Usual Suspects

June 26, 2009

29.   Watch 50 movies from IMDB’s Top 250 (5/50) (more info)

30.   Watch 101 new movies (8/101) (more info)

37.   Watch 5 movies suggested by friends or family (2/5) (more info)

I watched The Usual Suspects (#23 on IMDB’s Top 250) today on AMC. Last time my sister was in town we were talking about movies and she and her boyfriend recommended The Usual Suspects. I hadn’t seen it before and since it was on TV I decided to give it a watch. It was good. I don’t know how it was voted one of the all time best movie twists. I thought it was quite obvious how it was going to end (not that I didn’t like the ending). It’s not going on my favorites list by any means, but I’d consider watching it again with Shane. I now better understand a video students made for my cousin’s graduation that alluded to this movie. All in all, it did a good job jumping into the past without being confusing and had some clever lines and characters. I’d recommend giving it a watch if you haven’t seen it.

The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled

was convincing the world he didn’t exist.

-Verbal

4 Comments leave one →
  1. reeltoreel permalink
    June 26, 2009 5:45 pm

    I wonder if the twist didn’t seem as big to you since it’s been parodied so much? But I agree that it’s an overrated movie. Still a good one, but definitely overrated.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 26, 2009 5:54 pm

      I think it also had to do with AMC announcing that it had been voted one of the top plot twists before the movie started. So I was looking for it.

  2. jnylyn78 permalink
    June 26, 2009 6:02 pm

    This movie holds a special place in my heart! It was the movie that my hubby and I watched on our first date. So, I’m a little biased ;-) But, I did like it. I’m a huge Kevin Spacey fan…

    • taraSG permalink
      June 26, 2009 7:40 pm

      I’m a big Kevin Spacey fan too. I should probably look through and add more of his older movies that I haven’t seen to my to-watch list. You have a much better first date movie than my husband and I lol. We watched My Big Fat Greek Wedding. It’s a fun movie, but not something I can get Shane to watch with me very often :)

Leave a Reply

