Skip to content

Cara Mongolian Barb-B-Que

June 24, 2009

52.   Try 15 new restaurants (2/15) (more info)

Shane and I went to Cara – Mongolian Barb-B-Que tonight for the first time. It was really good! I’ve been to a Mongolian grill in Iowa before, so I knew what kind of food it would be. I was really impressed with the variety of options on the buffet. The concept of the restaurant is that you pick a size bowl (I got a medium and ate maybe half) and then you fill it up with your choice of veggies, meat, noodles, and sauce. Then you hand it to the guys at the end and they cook it there in front of you (ours even did tricks like flipping the bowl around with the food in it). Once you get back to your seat you also get rice and soup. The service was really nice and the prices aren’t bad at all. We’ll definitely be coming back :)

cara (1)

cara (2)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shauna J. permalink
    June 28, 2009 8:34 pm

    Hi. :) I’m a friend of Dee & Alex and have been following your 101 blog. Just wanted to let you know http://www.springfieldmoms.org has a coupon for this restaurant on their site, buy 1 bowl get 1 1/2 off. We haven’t made it there to try yet, but have heard nothing but good things about their food!

    I enjoy your blog and have been thinking of making my own list.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 28, 2009 10:42 pm

      Thanks! Are you Jerry’s wife? (If not I’m sorry for mixing you up with someone else). If you are, CONGRATS on bringing the new little one home!

      We loved Cara’s and it was really cheap considering how much food you get :) Thank for the info on the coupon. I’ll definitely be checking that out!

      I’ve loved doing the 101 list so far. I’m a list person in general lol. I think the hardest part is sitting down and making a fun realistic list. I would recommend going through some of the lists on my links page to get ideas. That’s what I did and it helped a lot!

      We’ll have to have a cookout once Dee moves here and you guys will be more than welcome to come!

      • Shauna J. permalink
        June 28, 2009 11:10 pm

        I am Jerry’s wife and thank you, we think she’s pretty great! I’ve been really wanting to try out Cara’s. Gotta love coupons and I love that kids eat free.

        I’ve checked out some of your links and have gotten some great ideas so far. Hopefully I can get something made up before too long. Life with 3 kids is pretty crazy these days!

        A cookout sounds fantastic! We love getting together with friends, just don’t ever make enough time to do it. From what I’ve read it seems we have several similar interests so I look forward to meeting you!

        • taraSG permalink
          June 29, 2009 6:36 pm

          I can’t even imagine how busy you must be! I’m really surprised we haven’t already met. Of course with 3 kids you probably don’t get a lot of chances to get out :) I’ve heard nothing but good things about you. I’m really looking forward to getting together :)

Leave a Reply

