Skip to content

running in place

June 17, 2009

39.   Do yoga 4 times a week for 6 weeks 10 times (0/6) (0/10) (more info)

43.   Run in the morning once a week for 6 weeks twice (1/6) (0/2) (more info)

I did my first morning run today. It was also my first time running in over two months. My goal was to run 3 miles on the treadmill. I finished 2.0 miles, but walked far more than I would have wanted to. I’ve got a lot of work to put in before I’ll be doing any races. I’ve learned my lesson the hard way about training too hard too fast and I’m doing my best not to repeat those mistakes. Jumping back into running during the week I’m dieting to fit into a bridesmaid dress probably wasn’t my brightest idea either…

I also started doing yoga again this week. I’ve lost almost all of my flexibility, but that tends to come back pretty quickly for me. I’ve mostly been using yogadownload.com‘s iTunes podcast. They’re about 20 minutes each and free. My favorite right now is the Moon Salutations. It’s the perfect before bed yoga routine :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 1:09 pm

    My mom has been using podrunner intervals (http://www.djsteveboy.com/podrunner.html) to train for a 5k. It’s music with a beat – you’re supposed to run to the beat or something – that helps you train. Each week you run for a longer amount of time. My mom swears by it.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 17, 2009 3:11 pm

      I’ve heard of using bpm’s (beats per minute) to help pace yourself, but I’ve never tried it before. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

