Skip to content

The Time Traveler’s Wife

June 14, 2009

13.   Read 101 books (2/101) (more info)

Rating *****

This is without a doubt going on my to-buy book list! The Time Traveler’s Wife tells the love story of Henry and Claire. Claire meets Henry when she is 6 and he is 36. Henry has a genetic disorder causing him to time travel and he has no control on where or when he goes. Claire meets with Henry many time as she is growing up as he visits her at her parents’ home. When Claire is 20 and Henry is 28 they run into each other in a library in Chicago, IL. The funny thing is that Henry at 28 has yet to meet Claire. The author, Audrey Neffenegger, weaves an amazingly touching love story through time. It touches on love, loss, time travel, sex, relationships and family. I don’t want to say too much in fear of giving something away. Just be sure to have a box of tissues near. I would rate this as a 9/10. To top it off while searching for the title in google I found out that they are making a movie based on the book! It will star Eric Bana and Rachel McAdams. While I fear that it won’t capture the book and highly recommend reading the book before seeing the movie, I’m excited to see the story come to life.

:: Edit 06.15.09 ::

I found a trailer for the movie and it brought tears to my eyes. I would recommend not watching the trailer until you’ve read the  book. It gives some surprises away that I wouldn’t have wanted to know. If you’ve read the book or don’t plan on reading it you can find the trailer here. The movie comes out August 14 of this year.

time

the_time_travelers_wife

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jnylyn78 permalink
    June 15, 2009 7:34 am

    I saw this preview yesterday! I haven’t read the book, but after seeing the preview, I plan to read it before the movie comes out!

    • taraSG permalink
      June 15, 2009 11:44 am

      I hadn’t been able to find a real preview before just now. I feel slightly more at ease about how they’ll do the movie. Even the trailer brought tears to my eyes with the book so fresh in my memory. Although I think the trailer gave a little too much away :( Let me know how you like the book!

  2. Debra Graham permalink
    July 7, 2009 9:54 am

    I read this book last spring, during vacation and I was so moved by its story that it affected my thoughts for weeks. Now, as I reflect back on the story-having seeing the movie preview last week, I can’t get the story out of my head! This was one of the best books I’ve ever read! Definitely a tissue requiring event. I can’t even conceptualize how the author came up with the story line and then wrote with such feeling and creativity! For anyone who has the opportunity and the time (you can’t put this down once you start…), pick up this book!

    Found your blog inadvertently! Good luck on all the reading and postings! I will be following along! Thanks!

    • taraSG permalink
      July 7, 2009 12:59 pm

      Thank you! The Time Traveler’s Wife is without a doubt one of my favorite books. I can’t believe I didn’t take the time to read it earlier. I’m really looking forward to the movie. I think they’ll do a good job with it.

  3. September 24, 2009 1:53 am

    Oh, you know, I’m really interested in reading this. A friend recommended this to me, but I read a synopsis and it sounds awfully sad. I don’t know how I’d cope with what I know happens…

    • taraSG permalink
      September 24, 2009 1:31 pm

      I’ve never cried as hard as I did when I read this, however, I have to recommend it. It was a beautiful love story.

Leave a comment