Skip to content

To-Watch List

June 9, 2009

30.   Watch 101 new movies (more info)

These are the movies I want to watch and have yet to start. There will be a link to this list from the 101 Movies page. I am open to suggestions from anyone and everyone! Just leave a comment with the name (and year if you know it). Thanks!

  • Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life (1983)^
  • One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975)#
  • Up (2009)#
  • A Clockwork Orange (1971)#
  • Ben-Hur (1959)#
  • Changeling (2008)#
  • Mystic River (2003)#
  • Les Invasions Barbares (2003)
  • Sur le Seuil (2003)
  • Horloge Biologique (2005)
  • The Lives of Others (Das Leben der Anderen) (2006)
  • Amelie (2001)
  • Stroszek (1977)
  • Closer (2004)
  • Clue (1985)
  • And the Band Played On (1993)
  • The Search for Spock (1984)^
  • The Death Note (2006)
  • Fandango (1985)
  • The Majestic (2001)
  • The Big Empty (2003)
  • Le Scaphandre et le Papillon (2007)
  • Repo! The Genetic Opera (2008)

Thank you for the recommendations! :

CandJ, Amanda, John, Alex, Lora, Bookish Penguin, Courtney, Andy, Nessie, Charles, & Nicky


(^) indicates suggested by friend/family for goal 37 (more info)

(#) indicates on IMDB’s Top 250 list for goal 29 (more info)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 11:47 am

    Here are a few of my favorite all-time films. Films that I think about on a semi-regular basis:
    Amelie
    Stroszek
    2001 (don’t think of it as a movie, but rather as an allegory for human evolution)
    just about anything by Hitchcock, but especially Rope, Rear Window, The Trouble with Harry

    • taraSG permalink
      June 9, 2009 1:03 pm

      Thank you! I’ll add them to my list :)

  2. Aманда permalink
    June 9, 2009 12:03 pm

    I was totally going to suggest Up, but I see you already have it on your list. :) I recently saw it in the theaters, and I really liked it. Very good! Also, if you haven’t seen Amelie, I would highly recommend that movie as well. It is a French movie too, so you could work on your French at the same time.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 9, 2009 1:10 pm

      I’m trying to talk my husband into taking me to Up, but he wants to see Land of the Lost :)

      • Aманда permalink
        June 9, 2009 1:17 pm

        Go to both. Problem solved. ;)

        • taraSG permalink
          June 9, 2009 5:39 pm

          Sounds like a plan to me!

  3. June 9, 2009 1:11 pm

    Did you see Wanted yet?
    Also Death Note (2 movies) a must see. =)

    • taraSG permalink
      June 9, 2009 5:37 pm

      I love Wanted, but I haven’t seen Death Note… I’ll have to look it up. It sounds scary and I tend to not like scary movies.

      • June 10, 2009 4:11 am

        Not scarry at all. It’s a movie with a very good plot. It’s a movie about a book (The Death Note) when ones name is written in it he dies in 45 seconds, the owner of the book is really smart, also there’s an investigator who’s pretty smart too and he’s trying to solve the case.
        Not scarry, just a good plot and some funny japanese acting. Not sure if there’s a dubbed version but I’d recommand watching the original Japanese one with subtitles. =)

        – Lora

        • taraSG permalink
          June 10, 2009 12:45 pm

          OK good. I’ll add it to the list :) I just don’t watch scary movies very often lol.

  4. bluefox864 permalink
    June 9, 2009 1:11 pm

    OMG Up made me fight back tears for a good chunk of the movie! Curse Pixar and their incredible ability to tell a story!

    Also One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest is a really good movie. You should also put Closer on your list. It’s one of those romantic tragedy movies that’s rather haunting. Very good actors in it, too.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 9, 2009 5:38 pm

      Thanks for going without me… :(

  5. bookishpenguin permalink
    June 9, 2009 5:49 pm

    Wall-E (if you haven’t seen it)
    Clue
    Shopgirl
    Garden State
    And the Band Played On (total sobfest)

    • taraSG permalink
      June 9, 2009 6:14 pm

      I love Garden State and Shopgirl, but I haven’t seen the others. I added them to the list :) Thank you!!

  6. August 31, 2009 3:08 pm

    “A Clockwork Orange (1971)#”

    I really disliked that movie.. I wasted my time.

Leave a Reply

