Skip to content

She & Him

June 3, 2009

28.   Find a new musical artist a month (2/33) (more info)

My new musical artist of the month of June is She & Him. The group is an American pop band consisting of actress Zooey Deschanel (vocals, piano, banjo) and musician M. Ward (guitar, production). The Rolling Stone gave their debut album Volume 1 three and a half out of four stars. They also had this to say:

Together they pose as a great lost Seventies AM-gold couple. Their acoustic vibe conjures up a time-travel fantasy of key parties, hot tubs and Chablis-crazed groping behind the spider plants. If this is your kind of thing, you will love this record, because Deschanel and Ward definitely know their mellow.

It is very mellow folksy twang and I love it. I really like Zooey’s voice and tend to like “real” voices (I’m not sure if that’s a good explanation or not). If you like indie folk then I would highly recommend giving them a listen.

she-and-him

I also download the new Eels album, Hombe Lobo. The Eels aren’t new to me, but if they’re new to you I recommend giving them a listen. So far I’m loving the new CD.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 12:12 pm

    I need to tell my boyfriend to follow your music discoveries – he loves finding new artists.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 3, 2009 2:45 pm

      Thanks! Let me know if he has any suggestions for artists to check out :)

  2. bluefox864 permalink
    June 3, 2009 2:28 pm

    I hope you’re using amazonmp3.com instead of iTunes. DRM-free is the way to be!

    • taraSG permalink
      June 3, 2009 2:46 pm

      I am! I remember you saying that and it’s cheaper :)

  3. jnylyn78 permalink
    June 3, 2009 3:59 pm

    Ooh, I like it! Very fun!

  4. June 5, 2009 8:00 am

    Love it!

    I know exactly what you mean about real voices. Have you tried Bright Eyes – they’ve got a real voice sound.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 5, 2009 7:54 pm

      I love them too! Have you listened to Conor Oberst’s album? The lead singer of Bright Eyes has a solo album and I really like it too.

Leave a Reply

