Skip to content

Battlestar Galactica Pilot

May 22, 2009

31.   Watch Arrested Development, BSG and Freaks & Geeks (0/3)

(more info)

Me and Alex started our Battlestar Galactica addiction tonight with the pilot mini-series/movie. It was three hours long, but went by pretty quickly and had a ton of action for a pilot. I’m very excited to see what the series has to offer! Here’s a really good page with more info and a more informed review.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2009 12:05 am

    I had nothing but skepticism. A science fiction show? So a bunch of nerds on the internetz said it was good–what does it have to do with me?

    But it is that good. We have only 3 more episodes to watch and then our lives will be Galactica-less.

    And Arrested Development and Freaks and Geeks are also great, of course.

    • tarasg permalink
      May 24, 2009 4:43 pm

      That’s good to hear! I too was unsure about how I would like it even though I already am a sci-fi nerd. I’ve only had time to see the pilot so far, but I’m hooked :) I’ve actually never seen Freaks and Geeks but one of my best friends LOVES it so I’m looking forward to jumping into that one soon.

  2. June 29, 2009 10:00 am

    Battlestar Galactica is brilliant. I missed it when it was on TV but wasn’t bothered as I wasn’t that interested. I used to watch the original series when I was a kid and loved it but then saw it again years later and realised it wasn’t very good so didn’t expect much from the new version. Then I saw the pilot on TV and was hooked. I rented the entire series back to back. I was watching the a disk of 3 or 4 episodes the day they arrived so I could get them in the post and get the next one. I just have the final season to watch now. It’s the top of my queue.

    The other great Sci-Fi series is Firefly. It only lasted one season of 14 episodes but they are all good. Then there was a film version Serenity that is also really good. If you haven’t already you should watch them. Although the film was made and is set after the TV series you can watch them the other way around.

    • taraSG permalink
      June 29, 2009 6:43 pm

      I had never watched it before I put it on my list, but I’ve heard great things about it. I’ve only seen the the first couple episodes and I’m hooked. My friend has all of them and gives me a few at a time. I’ve got some catching up to do :) You’ll have to let me know how you like the BSG series finale. I’ve heard mixed reviews. Did you know they have a new series coming out called Caprica? It’s a prequel I believe.

      I’ve seen Serenity and loved it. I’m definitely going to watch Firefly once I’m done with BSG. I really like Joss Whedon. I loved Buffy and Angel (until their last few seasons).

  3. June 29, 2009 7:08 pm

    I herd mixed reviews about the final season but have been told its one of those things you don’t like when you first see it but appreciate it when it sinks in. a bit like the end of Twin Peaks. I will let you know when I finally see it.

    I had missed firefly but went bought the box set after seeing Serenity. It is a little different but equally as good. I saw the final season last year I thought it was actually quite good after losing its way in the previous couple of years.

Leave a Reply

