Skip to content

Questions to ask while making a 101 list

May 15, 2009

As I’ve been helping Shane make his list and continue to edit mine, I’ve come across some questions that I try to ask about each goal.

1. (I think most important) Do I want to accomplish this goal?

  • Not just should I accomplish this goal, or so-and-so would like it if I did… do YOU want to do this?

2. Can I accomplish this goal?

  • If you’re not realistic when making your list, you’re setting yourself up to fail. I’m not saying these shouldn’t be challenging, but ask yourself if you actually think you will be able to complete it.

3. Can I afford this goal?

  • I’d love to travel Europe and buy Shane a motorcycle, however, I don’t know if it will be feasable. Are we going to try, yes! That is why Shane is making his goal “start a savings for a motorcycle” instead of putting down “buy a motorcycle”.

4. When/how is this goal complete?

  • If you don’t know, how will you know when you can check this one off?
  • Instead of putting down “be more positive” maybe put something like “write one positive thing about my day everyday”

5. Look over your list a couple times before you finalize it

  • I’ve made some easier, some harder and deleted some and replaced them with others. Question 4 can help you decide if something is realistic or not.

6. (OK maybe this is the most important) HAVE FUN WITH IT!

  • The whole point (as I see it) is to have some fun setting goals and timelines to shake things up. Don’t make a chore or a to-do list. What fun is that?

GOOD LUCK!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

