Skip to content

29. Watch 50 movies from IMDB’s top 250

May 13, 2009

I consider this goal complete if/when: I have watched from beginning to end 50 movies from IMDB’s top 250 list. Doesn’t have to be the first time I’ve seen the movie to be counted. I will count movies I’ve seen in the theater that are added to the list within a week of me seeing it.

Why it’s on my list: I really need to see some classics.

You can find all my IMDB posts here

3 Comments leave one →
  1. eggplantinspace permalink
    February 2, 2010 4:09 pm

    Well I think its pretty easy. Looking through the list though there are only about 70 i havent seen.

    So, having no idea whatsoever on what you like watching, and stereotyping you completely may I suggest a few.

    If you’re prepared to put up with foreign films, try “Amelie”. Its sweet quirky, funny and romantic. It is also the kind of film you could never see coming out of hollywood, not to say that american independants cant make a good film. I adored “Pieces of April”

    I love the odd courtroom drama, and both “Witness for the Prosecuton” and “12 Angry Men”, both in black and white are fantastic almost play-like films.

    “Leon” (not in black and white) is another touching drama which is odd as its about a rather simple assassin. A hit for both men and women i think.

    Anything from Pixar is a guaranteed evening of fun.

    There are plenty to avoid though. “Citizen Cane” might be a classic, but its dull. As is “The Seventh Seal” and anything from Stanley Kubrick. He may have made some great films, but as a rule they’re one watch movies that you may find yourself snoozing through if youre tired.

    If I were to pick 3 to watch though, they would be “It’s a Wonderful Life”, “Million Dollar Baby” (trust me… it may appear to be about womens boxing, but…) and “Up”.

    They are all simply perfect.

    I’ve steered away from the more manly movies. If I had to pick one out though it would be “City of God”, although this again is in subtitles, it is astoundingly gripping and has the added advantage of being a movie some men wont have seen.

    Finally I will mention “Pan’s Labyrinth”, which is fantastic. It mixes the fairytail with something far more scary, and you get a real escape into a young girls imagination.

    I tried my best to pick out movies you dont know too much about, since I am sure any nearby guy can wax lyrical about The Godfather or The Shawshank Redemption.

    • taraSG permalink
      March 2, 2010 8:46 pm

      Thank you!!! Sorry it has taken so long for me to comment back. This blog was on the back-burner for waayyy too long!

      I think my challenge with this goal is steering away from just new movies and checking out some “classics”.

      I really do need to see “Up”! I’m not against foreign films (and if I remember correctly have a goal just for them), however, they don’t cross my mind when I’m looking for something to watch. I think I need to sit down and put some of these on my Netflix.

      Thank you again! I really appreciate your help!!

      • eggplantinspace permalink
        March 9, 2010 12:48 pm

        np. Let me know how you get on.

Leave a Reply

