Skip to content

Scared by The Boss

July 1, 2009

02.   Do something that scares me once a year (1/3) (more info)

Today Alex, Jeremie, and I went to Six Flags in STL to celebrate Alex’s bday. We couldn’t have asked for better weather. On top of that, there were barely any lines. In general, I’m not a roller coaster lover. I don’t mind the ones that flip you upside down and twist, however, I CANNOT stand the ones that have a drop.

We started off on The Batman. “Hang on to your cape for five head-over-heels loops, including a zero-gravity roll.” Top Speed: 50mph I’ll admit that I was nervous the first time we rode it, but loved the high afterward. We ended up going 3 times over the course of the day.

Next up, The NinjaYou’ll be propelled through 2,430 feet of high-speed spirals, steep drops, a state-of-the-art loop, a mind-bending sidewinder and a double corkscrew.” Top Speed: 65mph. This is another one that I actually enjoyed (as long as we were in the middle). We went on the Ninja twice today.

Our third ride was The Boss. I did NOT want to go on it. This is the ride that I am counting as my “doing one thing that scared me”. There were far far too many drops for me to even consider wanting to try it.

Get ready for a one-of-a-kind rush on a world-class wooden roller coaster. Ranked among the country’s top five wooden coasters, The Boss lets you soar through an unprecedented double-down, double-drop of 15 stories, two additional drops of over 10 stories, several 52° high-banked turns, and a 570° helix.

It also gets up above 66mph and runs for 3 minutes! I don’t think there was anyone in the park that didn’t hear my screams. I was shaking pretty bad after this one (Jeremie took some video that I may put up later). I didn’t even enjoy the high afterward. I wasn’t thankful I was forced on it. I will not ride it ever again. I linked to a video of the ride at the bottom of the page, but I don’t think it captures how terrifying it was.

After that we decided to take a lunch break. Once we got back, we wanted to take it easy and rode the Thunder River ride. I think that we should have realized that since the seats were wet, we were going to get wet. I was lucky and only half my body got soaked. However, the water made my gym shorts see-through until they dried. Fantastic.

This is when we did the Ninja and Batman again then Alex and Jeremie rode the Evel Knievel ride. In hindsight I probably could have done this one, but after The Boss I wasn’t risking it.

Finally Jeremie talked us into riding Mr Freeze. Another ride I didn’t want to do. But I got in line (it was very short) and got strapped in… then asked for them to let me out. I couldn’t do it. This one shoots you out of a tunnel and goes from 0 to 70mph in 4 seconds. Once you’ve flipped and dipped, you go straight up into the air…. then you do it all backwards. No thank you. I’ve included a link to a video of this one as well.

We finished off with some kids rides then back to Batman. All in all, an absolutely fabulous day!

The Boss

Mr. Freeze


10 Comments leave one →
  1. Chère permalink
    July 2, 2009 12:04 am

    Good for you! You survived! :)

  2. July 2, 2009 1:03 am

    I can’t believe it, wooden roller coasters are awesome.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 2, 2009 11:55 am

      Alex and Jeremie would agree… I do not lol. Too scary :)

  3. Rachie X permalink
    July 2, 2009 2:56 am

    That is just TERRIFYING! You are very brave. I am not sure i could do that. Rollercosters scare me.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 2, 2009 11:56 am

      Thanks! I wasn’t so sure I was going to do it and ended up getting off another ride before it started :)

  4. July 2, 2009 10:07 am

    Bravo to you for doing this. I hate roller coasters. My life/emotions can be enough like a roller coaster ride that I don’t need to ever ride them to get the full effect. ;) Ha.

    • taraSG permalink
      July 2, 2009 11:57 am

      Thanks! I agree! I don’t mind some of the milder rides but I have enough ups and downs without the roller coaster :)

  5. annagustin permalink
    November 6, 2009 5:42 am

    wowwww!!!!… the roller coaster video was really cool…

    I really love roller coasters and extreme rides…
    that’s one of my goal ” to ride all the roller coasters in the world”

    thanks for the ride…hahahaha (as if , I felt I was in it too.. :-D)

    • taraSG permalink
      November 6, 2009 2:36 pm

      I don’t mind some roller coasters… but drops are just too much for me :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

